Related Guides
RefWorks (for organizing your citations and citing properly)
Helpful links
- Long-term Ecological Research (LTER) sites
- Microbial Observatories Use the unlinked URLs beneath each description to get to the observatory web pages.
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Finding Information
Choose a topic
- Topic guide in Proquest Research Library, a database of current news (Proquest indexes Science and Nature.)
-
Use "geoengineering" as a keyword search in VERA Multi-search for interdisciplinary and engineering databases.
Search Databases
General databases like Proquest will familiarize you with a subject. There are different databases for different subjects. Access to all databases and electronic journals and books available to MIT is through Vera.
-
Try these databases for articles on your topic. (Among MANY other journals, they all index Science and Nature.)
Compendex Articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering. 1884 - present. Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Collection Journal & conference articles, reports, books & government publications with comprehensive coverage of environmental & pollution issues. 1981- Present. Oceanic Abstracts Comprehensive index to worldwide oceanography literature. 1981 - present. Web of Science Journal articles in high-impact science, social science, engineering, arts and humanities. 1973 - present.
Major feature: Cited reference searching retrieves papers that have referenced earlier works by a specific author.
Finding
Journals and Books
Are they at MIT?
Barton is the MIT Libraries' Catalog and contains the location of all library materials. Remember, it contains titles, authors, and subject headings for books, journal names, and conference proceedings - NOT the titles and authors of articles contained within them.
VERA is the MIT Libraries' list of electronic journals and databases you can search for journal and conference articles. Check here for journal titles if you can't find them in Barton.
If not...
If MIT doesn't own it, you can get it for FREE through Interlibrary Borrowing.
Civil & Environmental Engineering Librarian |
Anne GrahamBarker Engineering Library (10-500)
(617) 253-7744
Send Email
Subjects:
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, Energy and Environment, and Nuclear Science and Engineering Librarian
Chris Sherratt
Contact Info:
Science Library (14S-134)
(617)253-5648
Send Email
Links:
Profile & Guides
Subjects:
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences,
Nuclear Science/Engineering,
Energy
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait