This is the "Home" page of the "11.014J / 21H.218J American Urban History II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

11.014J / 21H.218J American Urban History II  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/11-014J Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Cite Your Sources

There are many tools out there that you can use for citing your sources and creating your bibliographies.  Zotero is a free, easy to use tool for doing this.  You can find out more about Zotero in our Zotero guide.


For more information on citing sources see our Citing Sources guide.

Finding Newspaper Articles

News publications can be a great way to research current issues as they unfold. Here is a brief list of news databases available through the MIT Libraries. For a more complete list see our News, Newspapers and Current Events research guide.

Lexis/Nexis Academic

Access newspapers, wire service report, and transcripts of television and radio programs.

Factiva

Similar to Lexis/Nexis. But covers some key newspapers that aren't in Lexis/Nexis like the Boston Herald and Boston Globe.

Proquest Newstand

We trial acces to this database until January 4th. Provides access to several newspapers not included in the above databases such as the Los Angeles Times.

Note: The above databases don't always go way back in time but we have access to a number of historical newspaper collections as well. You can find them listed under Historical Newspapers on the News, Newspapers and Current Events research guide.

Finding Books and Reports

Books and reports can be great resources for research or to get an overview of a topic. 

To find books and reports in the MIT Libraries use Barton. 

Hint: Start with a keyword search using words that describe your topic.


To find books at other libraries use MIT's Worldcat. Then request the books through Borrow Direct, the BLC or Interlibrary Borrowing.

Hint: This is a great source for finding planning reports from other cities.

Finding Journal Articles

The MIT Libraries give you access to databases and journals in all subject areas.  To find journal databases in specific subject areas check our Research Guides.   For this class try the Urban Studies & Planning  and History  guides.  You can also use Barton Plus to search a topic in many of our databases and Barton simultaneously. This can be a good first step in starting your research, especially if you aren't sure what subject area to start in.

Already know the name of the journal or database you're looking for? You can look in Vera to see if we have access to these online. Once you get to Vera enter the title of the journal or database in the search box.

Peter Cohn

Profile Image
Urban Studies & Planning and Real Estate Librarian
Logo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Rotch Library
7-238
(617) 258-5596
Send Email
 

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip