Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
A wiki for international development, sustainability, and appropriate technology. Includes sections on medical devices, transport, water, and construction (among others).
Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. Use the button to try to connect to the full text pdf if the full text is not available in the database.
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS) at MIT
Use the "Find Data" tab to look for data by country (India). Includes 2001 census and India road data.
- India Stat
Use Internet Explorer for best access.
Click "IP login" to gain access to the MIT subscription.
- Business Source Complete Country Reports
Look for "Country Reports" in the right hand side Browse bar.
- ISI Emerging Markets
News, reports, and company and financial data from emerging markets in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1995 - present.
- OECD iLibrary
Includes International Energy Agency (IEA) reports.
- World Development Indicators Online (WDI)
Statistical time-series data on development for countries and country groups worldwide. Includes social, economic, and environmental indicators. 1960 to present.
- UDI world electric power plants data base
Global inventory of electric power generating units. Contains design data for plants of all sizes and technologies operated by regulated utilities, private power companies, and industrial autoproducers (captive power).
- UNdata Energy Statistics Database
Download energy data from statistical agencies throughout the United Nations. Series on energy cover topics such as consumption, exports, imports, and production.
- Power eTrack
Data and reports on the power industry worldwide.
- NREL India Solar Resource Maps
From National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).
Handbooks and encyclopedias are a great way to learn about a new topic. Don't forget to check the references at the end of the chapter/section for more detailed information.
You can always find individual books in Barton - both electronic and print!
- Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
A classic reference for mechanical engineering. Covers more than 100 essential mechanical engineering topics
- Shigley’s mechanical engineering design
Record from Barton showing print edition, on reserve at Barker Library.
Search for scientific & engineering information within hundreds of handbooks and related books. Includes interactive tables & graphs. Can also search by materials properties using the Data Search.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Includes solid state physics, optics, and related topics in engineering and physics.
- Appropriate Technology Library
A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information
- Publications are on CD-ROMS in the Barker Library stacks, 6th Floor: T49.5.A86 2002
Below are some examples of books you can find in the MIT Libraries. Check them out!
- Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
- Search library catalogs from around the world: MIT's WorldCat
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic.