This is the "Home" page of the "3.986: The Human Past - Introduction to Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

3.986: The Human Past - Introduction to Archaeology  

Library research resources for students in 3.986 (Fall 2013)
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/3-986 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citing Sources

  • Chicago Manual of Style
    Quick answers to writing style and editing questions.Includes guidance on citing electronic sources and a section on American English grammar and usage.
 

MIT Libraries Basics

 

Tip: Find Books with Subject Headings

If you have a book that's good for your topic, look for the subject headings.  Click them to find similar books.

For example, look up The Great Basin: A Natural Prehistory in Barton or Worldcat. Click on these headings:

Paleo-Indians -- Great Basin
Great Basin -- Antiquities

Online Encyclopedias

Articles

  • Anthropology Plus
    Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in Anthropology and related fields.Combines the Anthropological Literature database (from Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute).
  • America: History and Life
    Covers US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media. With abstracts
  • JSTOR
    A full-text scholarly journal archive, back to vol. 1, issue 1, in many fields.
  • Google Scholar
    Google's search engine for scholarly literature. See also Google Search Tips.
 

Finding Books at MIT

Barton, the MIT Libraries' Catalog

http://libraries.mit.edu/barton
Barton includes books and journal titles owned by all of the MIT Libraries. It does not list journal articles. 

 

Finding Books Outside of MIT

MIT's WorldCat
http://mit.worldcat.org
WorldCat includes books owned by libraries around the world. Use BLC Direct Borrowing, Borrow Direct, or  Interlibrary Borrowing (ILB) to request delivery of books from other libraries to MIT.

Tozzer Library
http://hcl.harvard.edu/info/admittance/index.cfm#tozzer
A top anthropology and archaeology library, Harvard's Tozzer Library is open to MIT students. To check materials out, first get a Harvard College Library Special Borrowers Card.

HOLLIS
http://hollisclassic.harvard.edu/
Harvard's online catalog.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Michelle Baildon
Contact Info
Hayden Library
14S-230
617-253-9352
Send Email
More Info:
Office Hours (2/13-5/15):
Thurs. 3:00-5:00
or by appointment
--
4/3 office hours 3-4:00. No office hours 4/17.
 

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip