Skip to main content

Search Account

9.33 Your Brain - A User's Guide: A Seminar and Writing Course Spring 2015: Home

Find articles in the popular press

Academic Search Complete 
A full-text database of research and popular press journals and books. Limit your search results to magazines by selecting Magazine under Source Type in the right sidebar. Find articles from Time, the New Yorker, the Atlantic, or New Scientist. 

BartonPlus
Searches across several MIT Libraries resources such as Barton catalog, e-books, and some databases. Limit your search results to magazines and relevant subjects (i.e. sleep and medicine) under the Format Type and Subject in the right sidebar. Try BartonPlus if you don't find anything in Academic Search Complete. More About BartonPlus

Factiva
News articles from several newspapers and magazines. Use the search builder to look for articles from specific popular titles or newspapers like Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Wired, or Vanity Fair. Watch this video for a demo of the search builder

Find scholarly review articles

Review Article: A peer reviewed journal article reviewing previous research on a topic up until the year of publication. Typically longer than a research article, review articles are a great place to start when researching a new topic. 

PubMed 

Citation database covering biomedical scholarly research articles. MIT Libraries subscribes to the full text of most citations. Limit your search to review articles by selecting Reviews under Article Type in the left sidebar. 

Web of Science 

Interdisciplinary citation database includes citation tracking to find the most cited article or highly cited authors by topic. MIT Libraries subscribes to the full text of most citations. Limit your search to review articles by selecting Review under Document Type in the left sidebar. 

Biosciences Librarian

Courtney Crummett