Skip to main content

Search Account

EMMAS using ArchivesSpace: Home

EMMAS is the Web interface for ArchivesSpace, the archives collections management system used by Institute Archives and Special Collections, the Aga Khan Documentation Center, and Rotch Limited Access. EMMAS stands for "Exploring MIT's Manuscripts and

What is EMMAS?

EMMAS (Exploring MIT's Manuscript and Special Collections) is a Web portal for browsing and searching guides and data about archival manuscript and record collections at the MIT Libraries Institute Archives and Special Collections and the Aga Khan Documentation Center

EMMAS is named in honor of Emma Savage Rogers who edited and published the Life and Letters of William Barton Rogers, about her husband, the Founder and first President of MIT.

EMMAS uses ArchivesSpacea next-generation collections management system for archival collections. ArchivesSpace supersedes the CMS The Archivists' Toolkit, which has been in use at the MIT Libraries (by IASC, AKDC, and Rotch Library) for the past several years. EMMAStaff is the staff-side interface to ArchivesSpace and collections management data. The MIT Libraries began using ArchivesSpace in October 2016 and populated it with all of the collections data previously held in The Archivists' Toolkit.

Collections Described through EMMAS

EMMAS is your entry point to search for materials in the MIT Institute Archives and Special Collections and in the Aga Khan Document Center repositories.

Please search for Rare Books and Rotch Limited Access material through the Barton library catalog.

Screenshot of EMMAS

AKDC Collections

The Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT (AKDC@MIT) provides descriptions of specific archival holdings through EMMAS, while an overview is available at Collections.  The Aga Khan Documentation Center is a research center supporting teaching of, and scholarship on, the history and theory of architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation, as well as the practice of architecture, in Muslim societies, with particular focus on the research and teaching activities of the faculty, students, and post-doctoral fellows at AKPIA. Situated within the MIT Libraries, AKDC@MIT, a part of the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture (AKPIA) at MIT and Harvard, was established in 1979 by a gift from His Highness the Aga Khan.

IASC Collections

Institute Archives and Special Collections (IASC) makes available through EMMAS publicly available finding aids (collection guides). The Institute Archives and Special Collections serves as the "memory" of MIT, collecting and preserving records that document MIT's history and the people who have been a part of that history. The collections include both published and unpublished materials in various formats. 

  • If the collection you are interested in knowing about is not listed in EMMAS, please contact our Reference Archivists using our Ask The Archives! form.