Did you know?
There are over 24,000 biographies that you can borrow from the MIT Libraries. Search Barton using the search terms biography, oral history, interviews, or biographical films.
Also check the links to biographical information in the People section of the Virtual Reference Collection.
General interest
- American National Biography
Allows 1 simultaneous user. - Biography In Context
Allows 2 simultaneous users. - Credo ReferenceClick Biographies on the menu.
- Dictionary of National Biography (see Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online)
- In the First Person
- Marquis Who's Who (see Biography In Context)
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Allows 1 simultaneous user. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online [DNB]
Allows 1 simultaneous user. - Who's Who (see Biography In Context)
- Who’s Who in the Twentieth Century
Arts
- Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
- Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Dictionary of Writers and Their Works
- Oxford Art Online - includes Grove Art Online
Allows 3 simultaneous users. - Oxford Music Online - includes Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
Allows 3 simultaneous users. - Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
- Who’s Who in Opera
Need help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Loading...
