Search Account

Bioinformatics: Home

Check this out!

Bioinformatics.org

Find computational resources and programs; online training in Computer Science, Computational Biology and Applied Math & statistics, established online community.

Check out the How Do I? Tab

Cool Tool

Have you checked out Star? MIT's homegrown Software Tools for Academics and Researchers.

Bioinformatics Classes

Check out the Bioinformatics classes during IAP 2015

  • Bioinformatics for Beginners

January 13th 10AM-11:30AM 
January 14th 3:30PM-5PM 

  • Learn to use IPA during IAP

​January 27th 10AM-Noon

  • Get the most from your "omics" analysis: GeneGo MetaCore Software Training 

January 21st 3-5PM 

All classes are in 14N-132 DIRC. Check out the list of all MIT Libraries' IAP classes.

Resource Highlight!

Have you checked out the Online Bioinformatics Resource Collection (OBRC) brought to you by the University of Pittsburgh's Health Sciences Library System?

The OBRC is a manually curated collection of biolnformatics databases and software tools. Search for topic or tool of interest among the annotations and links for 2440 bioinformatics databases and software tools. Need to find out what tools can be used for phosphorylation? Enter the term and see what you get!

Click here for a short tutorial on how to use the OBRC.

Bioinformatics News

MIT Libraries now have access to the Human Gene Mutation Database (HGDM)

MIT Libraries has obtained a license for the Human Gene Mutations Database (HGMD). HGMD represents a comprehensive collection of data available on germ-line mutations in nuclear genes underlying or associated with human inherited disease.

Search for newly identified gene lesions to determine whether or not they are novel; search by gene to get an overview of the known mutational spectrum for that gene; and search for a type of mutation in a specific location.

HGMD is integrated with other bioscience resources such as OMIM, Entrez Gene and the Human Gene Nomenclature Committee. The free version of HGMD only contains 3 year old data while the licensed version contains current data and a better search interface, so take advantage of this great resource!

 

NCBI now has a pathway tool available FREE!

NCBI BioSystems Database

  • Use this to investigate both molecular and disease biosystems.
  • Contains biological pathways from two source databases, KEGG and the EcoCyc subset of BioCyc
  • Developed as a collaborative and complementary project to (1) serve as a centralized repository of data; (2) connect the biosystem records with associated literature, molecular, and chemical data throughout the Entrez system; and (3) facilitate computation on biosystems data.
  • Detailed diagrams and annotations for individual biosystems are then available on the web sites of the source databases.

Bioinformatics Databases and Tools

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) --  collection public databases for research in computational biology, genome data, and biomedical information.

Ensembl -- software system which produces and maintains automatic annotation on selected eukaryotic genomes.

GenePattern --  analysis workflow tool developed to support multidisciplinary genomic research program.

BLAST -- analysis tool that finds regions of similarity between biological sequences.

Biosciences Librarian

Courtney Crummett

PubMed Tag Clouds

LigerCat is a PubMed search tool that uses tag clouds to show important concepts and trends. LigerCat aggregates multiple articles in PubMed, summing their MeSH descriptors and presenting them in a cloud, weighted by frequency.

MeSH is PubMed's controlled vocabulary.