Skip to main content

Search Account

Islamic architecture - Aga Khan Documentation Center: Special Collections

Supporting teaching of, and research on, the history and theory of architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual and material culture, and conservation, as well as the practice of architecture, in Muslim societies.

Special collections at MIT

This page lists some of the special collections that the Aga Khan Documentation Center provides access to.

For additional image resources, refer to the Image resources page of this Guide or the Digital Image Services and Collections guide.

City of Dubai

King Fahad Mosque, Culver City, CA

Mosque of the Fishermen's Wharf

Ipekyol Textile Factory

High Court of Justice

Gadisar Tank

AKDC Collections

Our collections include a variety of resources including photographs, images, maps, documents, and more. The non-exhaustive list below provides examples of our collections, categorized by type. All collections are available to students, faculty, researchers, and scholars at the Aga Khan Documentation Center.

Architects’ Archives

Rifat Chadirji Archive

Mohamed Makiya Archive

Hisham Munir Archive


Scholars’ Archives

Marilyn Jenkins-Madina Archive

Yasser Tabbaa Archive


Specialized collections

Bing & Harrington Balkan Archives

A collection of photographs, drawings, exhibition panels, travel records, published papers, collected books and articles focused on the vernacular architecture of the Balkans.

Isfahan Urban History Project

Archive of slides, negatives, field notes, original drawings, plans, maps, photos, notes, and drafts documenting the development of Isfahan, Iran, from the time of the Buyid dynasty by Dr. Lisa Golombek and Dr. Renata Holod.

Timurid Architecture Research Archive


Contact us for more information on these collections or our complete holdings.

Teaching Collection

The 35mm slide Teaching Collection in Rotch Library:

  • includes images, maps, plans, and drawings of Islamic architecture, cities, and art
  • is open for research to all members of the MIT community
  • is subject to copyright protection and may only be used within fair use guidelines
  • has been partially digitized and is available in Dome (MIT community only)

Project Archivist for Collections

Betsy Baldwin
Contact:
baldwine@mit.edu
Room 7-238
617.253.6209

Program Head

Sharon C. Smith, Ph.D.