MIT Libraries Homepage

• Bioinformatics
• Medicine
• Neuroscience & Cognitive Science 
• Biotech and Pharmaceutical Industry
• Biology
• News, Newspapers, and Current Events
  

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Copyright & Publishing

Open Access

Try PubGet, a 3rd Party PubMed/MEDLINE tool.

Pubget speeds up the process of grabbing the full-text PDFs from PubMed search results.

Search like PubMed. Read latest issues. Get PDFs fast.

• LexisNexis Academic - info
• ProQuest Research Library - info
• Factiva - info
• NPR Science Friday

Try these first:

• PubMed - medicine, healthcare, life sciences- info
• Web of Science - science, social science, arts, humanities - info

Other places to look:

• E-Books- Find E books from MIT Libraries
• NTIS - govt reports and studies-  info
• PsycArticles -full text psychology- info
• PsycINFO -psychology- info
• PubMed Central -open access biomedicine- info
• SciFinder Scholar -chemistry- info
• Faculty of 1000 Biology -biosciences- info
• NCBI -tools, databases, and literature- 

Top Medical Journals

• JAMA
• NEJM
• Lancet
• PLoS Medicine
• Annals of Internal Medicine

Medical Books

 StatRef Electronic Medical Library - info

• AAFP Conditions A to Z
• ACP Medicine
• AHFS Drug Information
• Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-IV-TR-2000)
• Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
• Oxford Textbook of Medicine
  
• Oxford Textbook of Surgery
  
• The Review of Nature Products
• Stedman’s Medical Dictionary

Handbooks, e-books, encyclopedias

• Cancer Handbook - info
• Encyclopedia of Cancer - info
• Encyclopedia of Controlled Drug Delivery (Knovel) - info
• Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - info
• MIT CogNet : The Brain Sciences Connection - info
• MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences - info
• NCBI Bookshelf - info
• Merck Manual Pronounciations - Free
  

Courtney Crummett
Bioinformatics and Biosciences Librarian
Engineering & Science Libraries
crummett@mit.edu; 617-324-8290

Peter Cohn
Urban Studies & Planning Librarian
Rotch Library of Architecture & Planning
pcohn@mit.edu; 617 258-5596

A weekly update from the National Library of Medicine highlighting health news.