MIT Libraries' Distinctive Collections comprises the Aga Khan Documentation Center, the MIT Institute Archives, Manuscripts, Rare Books, Visual Collections, the Wunsch Conservation Lab, and Metadata & Digital Collections Services.

Distinctive Collections collects, preserves, and fosters the use of unique and rare materials such as tangible and digital archives, manuscripts, ephemera, artists’ books, and more. With these collections the Libraries seeks to cultivate the interest in past, present, and future; the humanistic and the scientific; and the physical and the digital in order to inspire and enable research, learning, experimentation, and play for a diverse community of users.

The Distinctive Collections Reading Room is open to all, regardless of institutional affiliation, for use of our collections.

Emilie Songolo, Head

For all reference requests, please contact us using our form: Ask Distinctive Collections 

Location:
Building 14N-118
In the Hayden Library, 160 Memorial Drive

Mailing address:
Building 14N-118
77 Massachusetts Ave 
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307 USA

E-mail: distinctive-collections@mit.edu
Telephone: 617.253.5136

Thera Webb

Women@MIT Project Archivist
Distinctive Collections
twebb@mit.edu | 14N-118  | 617-258-5533

• Ask us via email (MIT only): We'll get back to you ASAP
   
• Expert librarians: Smart people who know the info in your field
• Research consultations: We'll connect you to the right librarian

Email and chat via Ask Us (MIT only) are often the most effective ways to get help and contact staff.

Staff by name

A-B | C | D | E - F | G | H - J | K - L

M | N - P | Q - R | S | T - V | W - Z

Staff by location

Staff by department

Administrative Services

Director's Office

• Center for Research on Equitable and Open Scholarship (CREOS)
• Development

Research and Learning

• Community Engagement
• Data & Specialized Services
• Information Delivery & Library Access
• Liaison, Instruction, & Reference Services
  - Social Sciences & Management
  - Arts & Humanities
  - Science & Engineering
• Lewis Music Library

Collections

• Distinctive Collections
  • Aga Khan Documentation Center
• Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
• Technical Services

Digital Library Services

• Discovery and Engagement Platforms
• Information Technology Services
• Project Management Office