A DSpace@MIT Community is an administrative unit at MIT that produces research, has a defined leader, has long-term stability, and can assume responsibility for setting Community policies. Each Community must be able to assign a coordinator who can work with DSpace@MIT staff. A list of research entities can be found at http://web.mit.edu/research/, which may serve as a guide to established Communities. Individual faculty and researchers whose unit is not established in DSpace@MIT can create a Sub-Community within the Faculty and Researchers Community.

A DSpace@MIT community agrees to:

• Arrange for submission and description of content
• Make decisions about community and collection definitions
• Notify DSpace@MIT of organizational changes affecting submissions
• Reply to annual reconfirmation of community information
• Understand and observe Institute policies relevant to DSpace@MIT, and educate community submitters regarding these policies
• Clear copyright for items submitted when copyright owner is other than author(s) or MIT
• Decide upon a submission workflow for each collection

A DSpace@MIT Community retains the right to:

• Decide policy regarding content to be submitted (within DSpace@MIT guidelines)
• Decide who may submit content within the community
• Limit access to content at the item level to MIT
• Receive a copy of submitted content upon request
• Remove items and collections (as outlined in "Withdrawal Policy")
• Approve addition of or elimination of sub-communities
• Customize interfaces to community content

DSpace@MIT agrees to:

• Retain and maintain content submitted to DSpace@MIT
• Distribute content according to community decisions (to MIT minimally, unless prior approval is granted by DSpace@MIT Policy Committee)
• Preserve content using accepted preservation techniques
• Provide access to DSpace@MIT research
• Notify communities of significant changes to content, e.g., format migration
• If MIT Libraries cease to support DSpace@MIT, return collections to existing communities and transfer to MIT Archives collections of communities that have ceased to exist

DSpace@MIT retains the right to:

• Redistribute, sell, or amend metadata for items in DSpace@MIT
• Refuse or de-accession items or Collections under certain circumstances -- as outlined in "Withdrawal Policy"
• Renegotiate terms of original agreement with Communities
• Perform appraisal for long-term archiving when Communities cease to exist or within thirty years of the creation of a Collection
• Move Collections to reflect current understanding between DSpace@MIT and Communities
• Migrate items if format is in danger of obsolescence
• Set quotas (size of files, number of items) to determine what constitutes free service and after which point to charge a fee
• Charge fee for activities requiring extensive centralized support from DSpace@MIT (e.g., large amount of de-accesssioning)

MIT is expected to:

• Set policy at the Institute level regarding issues that affect DSpace,such as copyright rules, thesis requirements, etc.
• Support functions mandated by existing policies

MIT Libraries foresees times when it may be necessary to remove items from the repository. It has been decided that under some circumstances items will be removed from view, but to avoid loss of the historical record, all such transactions will be traced in the form of a note in the <Description.provenance> field of the Dublin Core record. The content of the note should be one of the following:

• "Removed from view at request of the author"
• "Removed from view at MIT's discretion"
• "Removed from view at MIT Libraries' discretion"
• "Removed from view by legal order"

Because any DSpace@MIT item that has existed at some time may have been cited, we will always supply a "tombstone" when someone requests a removed item. This information will include the original metadata (for verification) plus one of the above withdrawal statements in place of the link to the object. The metadata should be visible, but not searchable. These items will also be made unavailable for metadata harvesting.

All items in DSpace@MIT will have a version of the complete content for free TO THE MIT COMMUNITY, WITH STRONG ENCOURAGEMENT FOR FREE TO ALL, with the following exceptions:

• When contract with sponsor prohibits disclosure for a fixed time limit
• When blocked on a time-limited basis (up to a maximum of one year) with the understanding that access thereafter becomes unlimited.

• The work must be produced, submitted or sponsored by MIT faculty.
• The work must be education or research oriented.
• The work must be in digital form.
• The work should be complete and ready for distribution.
• The author/owner must be willing and able to grant MIT the right to preserve and distribute the work via DSpace@MIT.
• If the work is part of a series, other works in the series should also be contributed so that DSpace@MIT can offer as full a set as possible.

Content submitters will be required to click through a Non-Exclusive Deposit License before submitting to DSpace@MIT. In order for DSpace@MIT to reproduce, translate and distribute submissions worldwide agreement to the following terms is necessary. The following is the text of the license submitters will encounter.

By clicking through this license, you (the author(s) or copyright owner(s)) grants to Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) the non-exclusive right to reproduce, translate (as defined below), and/or distribute your submission (including the abstract) worldwide in electronic format.

You agree that MIT may translate the submission to any medium or format for the purpose of preservation.

You also agree that MIT may keep more than one copy of this submission for purposes of security, back-up, and preservation.

You represent that the submission is your original work, and/or that you have the right to grant the rights contained in this license. You also represent that your submission does not, to the best of your knowledge, infringe upon anyone's copyright.

If the submission contains material for which you do not hold copyright, you represent that you have obtained the unrestricted permission of the copyright owner to grant MIT the rights required by this license, and that such third-party owned material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission.

IF THE SUBMISSION IS BASED UPON WORK THAT HAS BEEN SPONSORED OR SUPPORTED BY AN AGENCY OR ORGANIZATION OTHER THAN MIT, YOU REPRESENT THAT YOU HAVE FULFILLED ANY RIGHT OF REVIEW OR OTHER OBLIGATIONS REQUIRED BY SUCH CONTRACT OR AGREEMENT.

MIT will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission.

Creative Commons provides alternative licenses whereby you can release some of the rights you are automatically assigned by copyright law.

The most open license is the Attribution license. With this you receive the greatest exposure for your work, since allows your work to be distributed anywhere or modified to someone's specific needs, while still giving you credit for its creation.

Other Creative Commons license choices specify whether you allow commercial use of the work, whether you allow modifications of the work, and whether you allow derivative works to be created based on your work.

When you submit content to DSpace@MIT, you see a Creative Commons form that allows you to identify the license to be used with the item you are submitting, so people can know what they're allowed to do with your work. This form is optional in DSpace@MIT; you can skip it if you wish to retain your full copyright.

This system collects personal information from:

1. users involved in the submission of DSpace@MIT content and metadata
2. users who subscribe to the DSpace@MIT alerting service

Personal information collected by DSpace@MIT will not be used for any commercial or philanthropic purpose not directly connected with or approved by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

We do not disclose information about your individual visits to our site, or personal information that you provide us, such as your name, address, email address, telephone number, etc. to any outside parties except when we believe, in good faith (i) that the law requires it, or (ii) that disclosure is necessary to protect the rights and property of DSpace@MIT users.

DSpace data may be used by researchers of the HP-MIT Alliance's SIMILE research project under the conditions set forth in the "Terms for Use of DSpace Production Data".

Any DSpace@MIT records used in a publicly accessible forum, such as demonstrations, presentations, or research papers, will be scrubbed of specific references to real people and personal information.

The following categories of MIT faculty and researchers are eligible to create a collection in the "Faculty and Researcher" part of DSpace@MIT:

• Current faculty
• Faculty emeriti/emeritae
• Adjunct Professor
• Adjunct Associate Professor
• Professor of the Practice
• Associate Professor of the Practice
• Principal Research Scientist
• Principal Research Engineer
• Principal Research Associate
• Senior Research Scientist
• Senior Research Engineer
• Senior Research Associate

The DSpace@MIT team hopes to provide support for as many file formats as possible. Over time, items stored in DSpace@MIT will be preserved as is, using a combination of time-honored techniques for data management and best practices for digital preservation. As for specific formats, however, the proprietary nature of many file types makes it impossible to make guarantees. Put simply, our policy for file formats is this:

• Everything put in DSpace@MIT will be retrievable.
• We will recognize as many files' formats as possible.
• We will support as many known file formats as possible.

When a file is uploaded to DSpace@MIT, we assign it one of the following categories to note the level of support for its format:

• Supported: DSpace@MIT fully supports the format.
• Known: DSpace@MIT can recognize the format, but we cannot guarantee full support.
• Unsupported: DSpace@MIT cannot recognize a format; such formats are listed as "application/octet-stream", or Unknown.

By "support", we mean "make usable in the future, using whatever combination of techniques (such as migration, emulation, etc.) is appropriate given the context of need." For supported formats, we might choose to bulk-transform files from a current format version to a future one, for instance. But we can't predict which services will be necessary down the road, so we'll continually monitor formats and techniques to ensure we can accommodate needs as they arise.

In the meantime, we can choose to "support" a format if we can gather enough documentation to capture how the format works. In particular, we collect file specifications. Unfortunately, this means that proprietary formats for which these materials are not publicly available cannot be supported in DSpace@MIT. We will still preserve these files, and in cases where those formats are native to tools supported by MIT Information Systems, we will provide you with guidance on converting your files into formats we do support. It is also likely that for extremely popular but proprietary formats (such as Microsoft .doc, .xls, and .ppt), we will be able to help make files in those formats more useful in the future simply because their prevalence makes it likely tools will be available. Even so, we cannot guarantee this level of service without also having more information about the formats, so we will still list these formats as "known", not "supported."

We understand that there are always more formats to consider, and we would appreciate your help in identifying and studying the suitability of support for formats you care about. If we can't identify a format, DSpace@MIT will record it as "unknown", or "application/octet-stream," but we would like to keep the percentage of supported format materials in DSpace@MIT as high as possible. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

The table below describes how DSpace@MIT supports each listed file type. MIME type is the Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions (MIME) type identifier. For more information on MIME, see the MIME RFCs or the MIME FAQ. Description is what most people use as the name for the format. Extensions are typical file name extensions (the part after the dot, for example, the extension for "index.html" is "html"). These are not case-sensitive in DSpace@MIT, so either "sample.XML" or "sample.xml" will be recognized as XML. The Level is DSpace@MIT's support level for each format:

• Supported: DSpace@MIT fully supports the format.
• Known: DSpace@MIT can recognize the format, but we cannot guarantee full support.
• Unsupported: We cannot recognize a format; these will be listed as "application/octet-stream", or Unknown.

• The data must be produced, submitted or sponsored by MIT faculty or researchers.
• The data should be complete and ready for distribution.
  • Classified, confidential, and/or restricted data are not accepted.
• The author/owner must be willing and able to grant MIT the right to preserve and distribute the data. Please see the Non-Exclusive Deposit License in the General Policies/Guidelines/Licenses section above.
• Zipped and/or tarred files are discouraged, but may be used in the event that a dataset is too large or contains many individual files that should be distributed as a bundle.
  • Please contact data-management@mit.edu if you plan to submit zipped and/or tarred files.
• The dataset may contain multiple files. Individual data files (including zipped/tarred files) may not exceed 2GB.
• Each submitted dataset should contain:
  • A 'readme' file listing:
    • The contents of the submitted dataset (i.e., file names, formats and sizes of each file).
    • A list of software used to produce, render and compress the data (where applicable).
    • Where in the research process the data falls (e.g. raw/unanalyzed data, processed/analyzed data, rendered/visualized data).
    • Examples (pdf) of readme files: example 1, example 2.
  • Submitters are responsible for adequate description of the contributed dataset for the purposes of discovery and other informational purposes (e.g., funder names, grant numbers, how the data was collected).
  • It is recommended that datasets be documented sufficiently so that other knowledgeable researchers can find, understand and use the data.

Any file format can be submitted. However, depending on the format of the file there may be limitations on the MIT Libraries' ability to preserve it and for the ability of others to use it. When a dataset is uploaded, it is assigned to one of three categories of support as follows:

• Supported: Fully support the format for future usability.
• Known: Format is recognized, but full support cannot be ensured.
• Unsupported: Cannot recognize the format.
• For more information about supported formats see "Format Support" above

• Storage for contributed datasets will be allocated on the basis of individual research projects.
• The lead MIT investigator for each project will be responsible for usage of allocated resources.
• Contact the MIT Libraries Data Management Services to discuss your project needs.
• MIT Libraries reserves the right to monitor storage usage and contact the collection owner directly to discuss equitable solutions as needed.

Please contact data-management@mit.edu