LibGuides: 6.805: Foundations of Information Policy: Home

Related web pages

Legal resources use the Bluebook style, as published in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation gives a good overview of the style (click on "examples" on the left).

Want to generate a legal citation? Try Citeus Legalus

Legal Research in a Nutshell by Morris L. Cohen; Kent Olson
Call Number: Dewey Library: reference (2010) & stacks (earlier editions), KF240.C54
ISBN: 9780314264084
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Principles of Legal Research by Cohen; Kent C. Olson; Morris L. Cohen
Call Number: Dewey Library, KF240.O378 2009
ISBN: 9780314211927
Publication Date: 2009-06-26
Access Controlled by Ronald J. Deibert (Editor); John G. Palfrey (Editor); Rafal Rohozinski (Editor); Jonathan Zittrain (Editor); Miklos Haraszti (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780262014342
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Country profiles of internet censorship around the world.
Digital Crossroads by Jonathan E. Nuechterlein; Philip J. Weiser
ISBN: 9780262519601
Publication Date: 2013-07-05
A thoroughly updated, comprehensive, and accessible guide to U.S. telecommunications law and policy

HeinOnline
Legal database that provides law review articles as well as links to legislation and case law.
Law Review Commons (free and open law reviews)
Nexis Uni
Search news, law reviews, corporate information and case information. Hint: choose just "law reviews" from the advanced search if you don't want to see newspaper articles.
About law reviews (background from Harvard Law Library)
How to cite a law review (from Cornell)

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Use this to find social science papers from a broad range of fields. Hint: you can search this with Web of Science, linked below, to get both technical & policy papers.
Factiva
Up-to-the-minute news articles from newspapers and other sources, from major national & international sources.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Preprint and working paper server that includes a variety of policy and law papers.
SocArXiv
Like the physics preprint repository arXiv, SocArXiv collects preprints, but in the social sciences. Includes law & policy articles. A non-profit open access competitor to SSRN, which is now owned by Elsevier.
Scopus
General database for science & social science articles. Restrict to "reviews" to find review articles.

Use these databases to find technical papers.

Compendex/Inspec
All fields of engineering, plus physics, electronics, control, and more. Helpful if you need technical papers. Hint: add the keyword 'review' to your search to see if there are literature reviews on your subject.
Web of Science/ Web of Knowledge
High impact journal articles in all fields of science; includes computer science. Includes citation tracking. Hint: select "review" under document types to get literature reviews. Can also search this with the Social Science Citation Index, linked above.
IEEE Xplore
Good for cutting edge telecommunications technology papers; most IEEE publications are also indexed in Compendex.

NexisUni
Use this to find caselaw, as well as articles
Proquest Congressional
Gives committee hearings and legislative histories, as well as profiles of members of Congress.

National Security Archive
Primary documents obtained via FOIA that are central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes older sources; good for historical research into eg NSA policy.
Statista
Statistics and studies about a wide variety of topics, including internet penetration, data breaches, etc. Good for background.
BCC research
Technology market research; good for background on market penetration.

Contact: