LibGuides: EC.719 EC.789 D-Lab: Water and Climate Change: Home

Recent books

Society and the Environment by Michael Carolan
Publication Date: 2016
This book features "fast facts" about the issue at hand, its wide-ranging implications, and balanced consideration of possible real-world solutions.
Water in Plain Sight by Judith D. Schwartz
Publication Date: 2016
Water: a Very Short Introduction by John Finney
Publication Date: 2015
Climate Change: a Very Short Introduction by Mark Maslin
Publication Date: 2014
Climate Vulnerability by Roger A. Pielke
Publication Date: 2013-
Volume 5 is entirely on water and climate change. Online.
Impact of Climate Change on Water Resources in Agriculture
Publication Date: 2016
This book presents a multidisciplinary approach towards climate change and water resources in agriculture

Finding Articles

Water Resources Abstracts
Now part of Agriculture and Environmental Science Database.
Web of Science
High impact journals in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
Compendex
A very large database that covers all fields of engineering.

Finding books

Search for print and electronic books at MIT: Search our Collections

If MIT doesn't own it, try: MIT's WorldCat

Tip: The Subject search in Search our Collections can be a helpful way to explore resources related to a topic. Examples:

Climate Change
Climate Change Mitigation
Global Warming
Water Reuse

Electronic books, handbooks

Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.

Appropriate Technology Library - AT Sourcebook
A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information; try this link in the Wayback Machine.

The AT Sourcebook link takes you to an index of all the papers in the Appropriate Technology Library. The current AT Sourcebook webpage also contains a list of the publications in the library: Appropriate Technology Library

The publications are found Barker Library on CD: T49.5.A86 2002

There is also a copy of the Appropriate Technology Sourcebook in D-Lab.
Field Guide to Appropriate Techology
In print and online.
World Bank e-Library
Water Resources is a Topic.

Following the news....and finding Statistics

ClimateWire
Tracks legislation and general news from Washington and elsewhere.
more...less...
Part of a larger family of news sources including Environment and Energy Daily, GreenWire and more.
AQUASTAT
FAO's database of worldwide water statistics.
Statista
Fast and easy to read charts and current, brief summary reports. Good examples: Global Water Demand 1980-2030 or a March 2016, 60 page report on Climate Change.
UN Water
You can filter on the theme Water and Climate Change.

Energy and Environment Librarian

Alejandro Paz

he/him

Contact:

apaz@mit.edu
Room 14S-203
How can Alejandro help you?

Manage Your References

Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.