Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Citation Management and Writing Tools: EndNote

A guide describing software to help with citation management, writing, and other parts of the research process.

Get started with Endnote

1. MIT does not offer a site license of EndNote. You can purchase and download EndNote from their website; students discounts are available. EndNote is available online for free to MIT users through Web of Science. From Web of Science, click the EndNote link at the top of the screen. Note, the online version has more limited functionality than the Desktop version. 

2. Import citations into EndNote by exporting them from a database or by using a connection file.

Export options will vary by database so look for an Export option and EndNote or .ris format.

      

Connection files allow EndNote to search and import references from within EndNote. They only work with selected databases. 

  • In EndNote, go to Tools and Online search
  • In the Choose a Connection box, select a database and click on Choose. This will display a search form for that database.
  • Do a search. Highlight a citation. Right-click on it and select Add References To and add it to a group.

3. When writing your paper in Word, use the EndNote tab to insert citations and a bibliography.

Export from Barton, import to EndNote

Advantages: cleaner reference, better search mechanism

Disadvantages: longer than other methods, tedious

  1. Search in Barton for the books/journals/conferences you want to export.
  2. Click the check boxes to select them from the results list and click “Save/Email” (see below).



  3. Change the record format to “EndNote” and click “Send” (without entering your email address).
  4. Make sure “Save to file (use this to print or export to EndNote)” is selected and click “Send.”
  5. From the File menu, choose Save As or Save Page As. Save the document as a text file, with the .txt extension.
  6. Open EndNote, then open the library that you want to import into.
  7. From the File menu, go to Import…
    • Click “Choose File…” to browse your hard drive and locate the file of references that you just saved.
    • For the Import Option, select “Reference Manager (RIS).”



  8. Click Import. The references brought in from the file will be listed.

Search Barton and import from inside EndNote

Advantages: Fast and simple

Disadvantage: poor search mechanism

  1. Inside EndNote, go to the Tools menu and highlight Online Search.
    • If MIT is an option in the sub-menu, select it.
    • If MIT is not an option, select “Connect…,” find MIT in the list that pops up, and click Connect.
  2. Using the search box that appears, perform a search of the MIT catalog.
  3. Retrieve as many references as you want from the confirmation box that appears. These references are retrieved and listed in a separate window.
  4. Select the references that you want to import into your library, right click and select "copy references to" and choose the library where you want the references to go.

                         

               

Using EndNote's "Find Full Text" feature

To get better access to articles & PDFs, change the following EndNote preferences in the "Find Full Text" section:

OpenURL Path: https://sfx.mit.edu/sfx_local

Authenticate with URL: http://libproxy.mit.edu/login?url=

EndNote preferences screenshot

 

 

Get help with Endnote

Contact EndNote through their web site, or call (800) 336-4474, ext. 4, 8 AM to 5 PM Pacific, Monday through Friday.

EndNote support links:

If you have questions about using EndNote in conjunction with library-supported databases, please use Ask Us!

Get help with citation software

Contact us at: cite-write-tools@mit.edu