MIT Libraries Catalog
To find materials owned by MIT, use Barton:
Classical Music
Shortcuts for Researching a Topic: Online and Print Resources
Music Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories
-
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians / edited by Stanley Sadie. 2nd edition.
Ref ML100.G883 2001 v.1-29; Grove Music Online is available as part of Oxford Music Online (MIT only)
The standard music encyclopedia in English. Includes listings of compositions after each biography. - Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. Centennial edition.
Ref ML105.B168 2001 v.1-6 and online (MIT only) -
The Harvard dictionary of music / edited by Don Michael Randel.
Ref ML100.H37 2003 -
Musical America international directory of the performing arts.
Ref ML12.M88 (Annual; latest 2 years only kept; latest on Reference) -
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart.
Ref ML100.M987 v.1-17 and Ref ML100.M987 1994 Sachteil 1-9 & index, Personenteil 1-7 & index
The most comprehensive music encyclopedia in German.
Finding Books and Articles
- Barton (to find materials owned by MIT)
- Music index.
Ref ML118.M987 and online (MIT only)
An index to music articles published in journals from 1949-1974 (print) and 1974-present (online). - RILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of music literature. (MIT only)
Contains abstracts of music research (articles, books, dissertations) from 1967 on. - WorldCat (MIT only)
Contains over one billion library records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs. - Doctoral dissertations in musicology online
Free web access from the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature, Indiana University.
An index of music dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed music dissertations. - Google Scholar.
Includes scholarly literature at MIT and beyond.
To broaden your music search, use Vera Multi-Search
Finding Full-text Journal Articles
Indexes and Lists of Works
- Specialized indexes and bibliographies for various instruments
and ensembles and types of music are found in the Lewis Music Library's
Ref ML128 section. Examples:
- Cohn, Arthur. The literature of chamber music.
Ref ML1100.C64 1997 v.1-4 - Dunlap, Kay and Barbara Winchester. Vocal chamber music: a catalog.
Ref ML128.V7.D86 1985 - Farish, Margaret. String music in print.
Ref ML128.S7.F228 1973
- Cohn, Arthur. The literature of chamber music.
- Thematic catalogs listing composers’ works may be found in Ref ML134, arranged alphabetically by composer. Examples:
- for J.S. Bach, see Ref ML134.B118
- for W.A. Mozart, see Ref ML134.M939
- for F. Schubert, see Ref ML134.S384
Writing Tips
- Starting your research
- Organizing your references
- Writing guides for music: see the Ref ML3797 section in the library
Finding Music Scores
- For scores in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select Scores from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
- For online Public Domain scores, see Public Domain Music Scores
Finding CDs and DVDs
- For CDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select CDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
- For DVDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select DVDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
Streaming Audio
- Naxos Music Library (MIT only)
More than 500,000 tracks of music, representing 35,200 CDs. - DRAM [Database of Recorded American Music]. (MIT only)
Over 9,800 compositions by American composers and artists from New World, CRI, and other important labels.
Online Resources
- Classical.net
- Internet Resources in Music
From the University of California Santa Barbara - Online Resources for Musical Scholars
From the Loeb Music Library at Harvard University. - Worldwide Internet Music Resources
From the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music. - Music
From the University of Washington Music Library. - WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
From the American Musicological Society.
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait