A guide to researching companies using the resources of the MIT Libraries.
- Reference USA
Searchable directory of millions of public and private U.S. companies. Export limit: 500 firms per download (250 when accessing from off-campus)
- Mergent Intellect
Information on 90+ million companies worldwide. Includes some financials. Search by company, industry, location, or other criteria. Export limit: 2,000 firms per download (NOTE: Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Online as of November 2013.)
Directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies. Provides basic details such as location(s), names of executives, major industries and size of business.
- Capital IQ
Financial and descriptive information on public and private companies and executives. Available on a workstation at Dewey Library. MIT Sloan MBA, MFin, MSMS, and Sloan Fellows students and faculty may contact the Sloan Career Development Office to obtain a personal account.
- LexisNexis Company Dossier
Basic information on >13 million companies worldwide, compiled from multiple sources.
- S&P NetAdvantage
Company and industry reports and financials. Includes online access to S&P Industry Surveys and S&P Stock Reports.
Listing of manufacturers in the U.S. & Canada. Includes links to product catalogs.
Contact a Librarian
Ask Us! (ask a question; schedule a consultation)
In-person: Dewey Library, Bldg. E53, 1st floor, 12-5pm M-F
Ask Us! - Quick Answers provides answers to frequently asked questions. It currently focuses on management and social sciences topics - more topics coming soon!
Type your question or keyword(s) below.