This is the "Home" page of the "Materials Science & Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Materials Science & Engineering  

Useful databases and other research tips for materials science.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/materials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tips & Tricks

Learn about what resources to use for your research, how to keep up to date with research, and how to organize your references.

Manage Your References

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

 

Keeping up with research

RSS, Email & Table of Contents Alerts

Find new journal articles about your research topic!


There are a number of services via email and RSS for accessing tables of contents of new journal issues and research alerts (results of literature searches you construct, run periodically).

This site will provide links to these services, as well as an explanation of what RSS is and how it works. 

Finding articles & research papers

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. Use the http://libraries.mit.edu/img/sfx/sfx-mit.gif button to try to connect to the full text pdf if the full text is not available in the database.

  • Compendex/Inspec  Icon
    Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
  • SciFinder
    Register to use this database.

    Search chemical literature, including journal articles, conference papers, chemical patents, and theses in chemistry and related fields.

    Learn more about SciFinder.
  • Web of Science
    High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
  • Scopus
    Competitor to Web of Science. Includes all subjects and cited reference searching.
  • MRS Online Proceedings Library
    Papers presented at the Materials Research Society (MRS) Symposium. 1980-present.
  • ECS Digital Library
    Search publications from the Electrochemical Society (ECS), including journals and ECS Transactions (2005 - present).
  • OneMine
    Includes full text papers from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) and more.

Books, handbooks, theses

Use these links to books, theses and other related publications to get started.  Search Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog, for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries.  Or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

Materials properties

Try the Finding Chemical & Materials Properties guide, or these databases:

  • Knovel
    Use the "Data Search" to search for specific properties found within hundreds of handbooks and other scientific books.
  • Springer Materials
    Known in print as Landolt-Börnstein. Includes 250,000 substances and 3,000 properties. Good for semi- and superconducting materials.
  • Reaxys
    Find properties for organic, inorganic and organometallic substances. Known in print as Beilstein or Gmelin.
  • Materials Project
    Also known as the Materials Genome Project. Search for materials by chemistry, composition, or property. Plus many other features (Phase Diagram App, Reaction Calculation, Crystal Toolkit).
  • ASM Alloy Center
    Search for specific alloys by name, composition or properties. Includes data sheets from Alloy Digest.
  • ASM Micrograph Center
    Micrograph images and associated data for many alloys.

Phase diagrams

Search Barton or Ask Us! for more resources on phase diagrams.

Crystallography

Search Barton or Ask Us! for more resources on crystal structure and crystallography.

Angie Locknar

Profile Image

Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, ESD Librarian
Logo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Barker Engineering Library (10-500)
Hayden Library (14S-100)
Phone: 617-253-9320
Send Email
 

Need Help?

Ask Us if you have questions

 

Research Consultations: appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip