General DirectoriesIndustry-specific DirectoriesRegion-specific Directories
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Companies 

A guide to researching companies using the resources of the MIT Libraries.
Last update: Sep 11th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/companies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry-specific Directories            Print Page
  
 

Looking up a company

Print directories provide a brief summary of a company. For privately-owned companies, this may be limited to contact information, industry, and names of key executives. For publicly-owned companies, much more information is usually available. General purpose directories cover the largest public and private companies. Industry-specific and region-specific directories may provide information not included in general sources.

For additional print directories, try a Subject Keyword search in Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog. Search on an industry, region, or other keyword combined with the word DIRECTORIES.

For electronic directories, look for Profiles & Directories under the "Home" tab, above.

For financial information about companies, visit the Finance & Investment research guide.

 
 

Industry-specific Directories

The following books are located in the Dewey Library's reference collection. Remember to consult the databases under the "Home" tab in this research guide first, as databases tend to be more current and allow complex search queries.

Advertising Agencies
Advertising Red Book

Aerospace
World Aviation Directory

Banks
The Bank Directory

Consulting Firms
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory

Exporters
Directory of United States Exporters

Health Care
AHA Guide to the Health Care Field

High Tech
New England Technology Directory

Importers
Directory of United States Importers

Investment Management & Research
Directory of Registered Investment Advisors
Nelson's Directory of Investment Managers
Nelson's Directory of Investment Research

Manufacturers
ThomasNet (website)
Thomas Global Register (website)

Media (Radio & Television Stations, Cable Companies)
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Television & Cable Factbook

Private Equity/Venture Capital Firms
Galante's Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory
Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources

 
 

Subject Expert

Librarians at Dewey Library
ask-dewey@mit.edu

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait