Vera Multi-Search
MIT Libraries catalog
Dictionaries
General
• New Oxford American Dictionary
• OneLook Dictionary - A Search Engine for Words and Phrases
• Oxford American Dictionary of Current English
• Oxford Dictionary of English
• Oxford English Dictionary (OED) - info
• Webster’s Dictionary Online
Specialized
• Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary
• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
• Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations
• Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
• Stedman's Medical Dictionary
• TechTerms Dictionary - Computer and Technology Defined and Explained
• Visual English Dictionary
Encyclopedias
General
Arts
- ArtCyclopedia - The Guide to Great Art on the Internet
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia - from the Library of Congress
Engineering and Science
- Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
- Knovel - Encyclopedias from various scientific disciplines
- Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
- Medical Encyclopedia - from MedLinePlus
- MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
History
- Encyclopaedia Judaica , 2nd ed., 22v, 2007
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration , 4v, 2001
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture , 3v, 2003
- Encyclopedia of India , 4v, 2006
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America , 3v, 2004
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia , 6v, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism , 3v, 2008
- Encyclopedia of Russian History , 4v, 2004
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression , 2v, 2004
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa , 2nd ed., 4v, 2004
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 , 3v, 2007
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- The Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained , 3v, 2003
- Smithsonian Encyclopedia
Literature
- Encyclopedia Mythica - Mythology
- The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, 1993
Religion
- Encyclopaedia Judaica , 2nd ed., 22v, 2007
- Encyclopedia of Religion , 2nd ed., 15v, 2005
- Encyclopedia of Science and Religion , 2v, 2003
- New Catholic Encyclopedia - 2nd edition, 15 vol. 2003
Social Science
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism , 3v, 2008
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences , 2nd ed., 9v, 2008
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences , 17v, 1968
Subject Expert
Georgiana McReynolds
Reference and Information Services Coordinator, Humanities Library
gmac@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait