Music Online Resources
Locating Articles, Books, Dissertations
- Lists contents of over 700 music periodicals from 1974-present
RILM Abstracts Online (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
- Over 500,000 citations
- Lists journal articles, books, and other publications from 1967-present
- Entries in 215 languages from 151 countries
- Lists 1.2 billion library records including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs
- More than 10,000 participating libraries worldwide
- Lists over 27,000 music dissertations from 1980 on
- Includes 350-word abstracts
Full-text Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online includes:
Grove Music Online
- Over 29,000 articles written by the world's leading music authorities
- Formerly known as New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
- 12,500 entries
- Defines topics such as musical terms, forms, instruments, and more
Oxford Companion to Music
- More than 8,000 articles
- Concise definitions of musical ideas and terms
- Extended discussions of musical forms and styles
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
- Covers many musical genres
- Entries by distinguished specialists
- Also contains original articles by Nicholas Slonimsky
- Published in 2001
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
- Over 9,000 pages of material on world music
- Entries by more than 700 contributors
Full-text Journal Articles
- 32 music journals (most recent years not included)
- Includes standard scholarly music journals
Directory of Open Access Journals
- 30 freely available music journals
Full-text Books and Scores
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- Contains nearly every work printed in English-speaking countries from 1473-1700
- Around 125,000 titles including many music scores
Internet Archive (texts)
- Includes thousands of public domain music books
Streaming Audio
- Over 900 albums, nearly 16,000 tracks
- Genres such as African American, American Folk, American Indian, Bluegrass, Tex-Mex, and more
- Over 800 albums, over 11,000 tracks of world music
- Includes reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres
Database of Recorded American Music [DRAM]
- Over 9,800 compositions (1,500 CDs)
- American composers and artists from New World, CRI, and other important labels
Internet Archive (audio)
- Over 100,000 free digital recordings
- Nearly 23,000 tracks from over 2,300 CDs
- Over 500 jazz artists
- More than 322,000 tracks of music, representing 22,500 CDs
- Mostly classical but includes other genres
Music Meta-Sites
- Worldwide Internet Music Resources (Indiana University)
- Music Resources (Sibelius Academy)
- WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists (American Musicological Society)
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait