This is the "Home" page of the "Theater Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theater Arts  

A guide to library research tools for theatre.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/theater Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Theatre Databases

  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance  Icon
    Search articles, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations on theatre and performance. Includes some full-text articles and books.
  • Play Index  Icon
    Covers a variety of types of plays, including one-act plays, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama, and monologues from several time periods.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online  Icon
    A comprehensive bibliography of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.

Literature Databases That Include Theatre

The resources below cover literature, although also include scholarship related to theatre.

  • Literature Online (LION)  Icon
    Includes the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature(ABELL).
  • MLA Bibliography  Icon
    References to articles in the fields of literature, drama, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.

Humanities Databases That Include Theatre

The resources below broadly cover the humanities, and so also include scholarship related to theatre.

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  Icon
    Indexes hundreds of communication and media journals with full-text for many articles.
  • Humanities Source  Icon
    Full-text access to hundreds of journals and indexes articles, fiction, book reviews, and reviews in the humanities.
  • JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive  Icon
    A collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded.
  • Project MUSE  Icon
    A collection of major journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes many major theatre journals, including Comparative Drama, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Shakespeare Quarterly, TDR: The Drama Review, and Theater, among others.
  • TLS, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive  Icon
    Includes reviews, articles, and letters. 1902 - 2008.

Plays in Full-Text

  • Literature Online (LION)  Icon
    Contains full-text of many plays written prior to twentieth century. To browse, select Browse Compete Contents, then Texts, then All Full Text Drama.
  • Women Writers Online  Icon
    Contains 66 plays written by women between 1526 and 1850. Published by Brown University.
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)  Icon
    Contains scanned reproductions of the works of thousands of authors published prior to 1700 in all fields and genres. Overall dates of coverage: 1475-1700.

Streaming Video

  • Theatre in Video  Icon
    Hundreds of performances in many different genres. Also includes documentaries on playwrights and performers.
  • OntheBoardsTV  Icon
    Streaming video of contemporary theatre, dance, and performance art. Sponsored by On the Boards in Seattle. 2009 - present.
  • Filmakers Library Online  Icon
    Streaming video of documentaries from a wide range of disciplines, including dance and theatre.

Image Collections (for costumes and scene design)

Questions?

Profile Image
Mark Szarko, Literature, Global Studies and Languages, and Theater Arts Librarian
 

Getting Help if Mark's Not Around

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip