Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Theater Arts 

This is the Theater Arts subject guide
Last update: Sep 15th, 2008 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites            Print Page
  

Theater Links

  • WWW Virtual Library Theatre and Drama  
    Gateway to theatre and drama resources in more than fifty countries.
  • Theatre Central  
    Metasite divided into categories including professional theatre companies, show sites, stagecraft, unions, contracts, Directories of Association's publications and discussions, now playing, for the playwright, etc.
  • Actor Site  
    Great resource for professional actors. Includes audition information.
  • Internet Broadway Database  
    "Official database for Broadway theatre information." Provides current and historical information on New York theatre productions.
  • WWW Resources for Theater and Drama  
    Broad collection of theatre links maintained by the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries.
  • Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies  
    Large, well organized guide to theatre and performance studies maintained by Ken McCoy at Stetson University.
  • Artslynx  
    Provides many resources for theatre, dance, music and the visual arts.
  • Digital Librarian: Performing Arts  
    Large collection of links to theater and performing arts sites.
  • Interplay  
    Allows you to search for plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals.
  • New York Theatre Wire  
    Advance news of what's playing on New York's stages. Includes theatre, dance, performance art, music, etc.
  • Theatrehistory.com  
    Includes material on the origins of theater as well as on ancient & medieval theater history. Also covers a variety of countries and includes a script archive.
  • Performing Arts in America 1875-1923  
    Provides visual & audio images drawn from the extensive collections of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Covers dance, music, film and theater. Includes 16,000 primary documents & original sources.
  • Records of Early English Drama (REED)  
    "examines the historical MSS that provide external evidence of drama, secular music, and other communal entertainment and ceremony from the Middle Ages until 1642." Based at Victoria University in the University of Toronto.
  • UK Theatre Web  
    "the definitive WWW guide to professional and amateur performing arts... in the UK."
  • London Theatre Guide  
    "news, listings, reviews, seating plans, tickets, map, venues..."
  • SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions  
    "lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts (theatre, opera, music, ballet, film, circus, radio, television, cabaret, pantomime."
  • Theatre History on the Web  
    Contains a large collection of links to theatre sites organized by period as well as links to large theatre collections in research centers, libraries and museums.
  • Didaskalia  
    "an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance"
 
 

Subject Expert

Mark Szarko
Theater Arts, Humanities Library
szarko@mit.edu
(617) 258-8022

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait