Historical Industry Overviews
Encyclopedia of American Industries - HC102.E53
For each industry, information includes an overview, organization and structure, background and development, bibliography for further information, and some or all of the following: basic statistics, current conditions, industry leaders, workforce, research and technology. MIT holdings begin in 1994.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries - HD2324.E53
Detailed information on 125 industries of global significance. MIT holdings begin in 1996.
Manufacturing and Distribution U.S.A.: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies- HD9721.M364
Formed by the union of "Manufacturing U.S.A." [HD9723.M36] and "Wholesale and Retail Trade U.S.A." [HF5421.W48]
Includes statistics on over 850 industries. MIT holdings for ealiest title begin in 1992.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - HC106.6.S74
Provides a textual analysis for 22 broad industry categories which are broken down into more specific subsets. MIT holdings begin in 1947.
Historical Industry Statistics
Annual Survey of Manufactures - HD9724.A211
This survey supplements the Census of Manufactures. MIT holdings begin in 1947.
Census of Manufactures - HD9724.A211
Taken every 5 years by the US Department of Commerce, this census includes statistics on employment, payroll, inventories, capital expenditures, and selected manufacturing costs. It includes SIC Major Groups 20-37. MIT holdings begin in 1958.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - HA202.A2
Compiles statistics on the industrial, social, political and economic aspects of the US. The tables cite the sources for the statistics provided, leading to further numbers and analysis. MIT holdings begin in 1878.
Need Help?
Email subject experts at ask-dewey@mit.edu: you'll receive a response by the next business day
Research Consultations: appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Walk-in reference service: Dewey Library, M-F 11am-5pm
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait