LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Home

Related guides

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Finding articles & research papers

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. Please note that not every database will have full text. In this case, use links within the databases to access full text available through MIT subscriptions.

Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
Web of Science
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
One Petro
Includes papers on petroleum and from related societies like NACE, the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) and the Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
ASME Digital Library
Conference papers from 2002 - present.
Also includes ASME journals.
SAE Mobilus
1906 - present: full text of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) papers; includes current Aerospace Standards. Current and historical Aerospace Material Specifications and Ground Vehicle Standards are also available.
Citations only for other publisher content (like JSAE) or other SAE standards.

Multimedia Fluid Mechanics Online
Helps students understand the mathematics behind fluid flows through experimental and computational demonstrations across eight key modules from Dynamics to Turbulence.

Books, handbooks, theses

Use these links to books, theses, and other related publications to get started. Search our collection for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
A classic reference for mechanical engineering. Covers more than 100 essential mechanical engineering topics
Knovel
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
Corrosion Handbook
Corrosion data and the chemical resistance of all technically important metallic, non-metallic, inorganic and organic materials in contact with aggressive media.
Dissertations & Theses
1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.
Machinery's Handbook
The most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world.
ASM Materials Information
Includes the ASM Handbooks, Alloy Finder, and other ASM products.

Engineering Librarian

Claire Berman

Contact:

cberman@mit.edu
Room 14S-210
617.253.4442

How can Claire help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.