Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architectural Design 

Last update: Aug 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/archdesign  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Professional Practice Resources            Print Page
  

Cost Estimating

Cost data and indeces can also be found in printed form in Rotch Library. Do a TITLE KEYWORD search for "Means" and "cost data" or "estimating." Some examples are:

How to Estimate with Means Data and CostWorks, TH435.H88697 2006  (Includes a CD-rom.)

Means Estimating Handbook, TH435.M425 2003

  • R.S. Means Company  
      
    Cost estimating information, with ads for the company's products. Includes hints for estimating, types of estimates, estimating software demos, and quarterly updates for city cost indexes for material and labor. Registration (free) required.
  • American Society of Professional Estimators  
      
    Includes links to OSHA homepage, ADA resources, and the journal The Estimator.
 

Building Codes

Besides MAD CAD, there are also printed copies of various building codes in the collections at Rotch.

  • MAD CAD  
      
    Provides access to a comprehensive cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA and state and local codes. (MIT access only)
 

Image Resources

Use these sources to find high-quality images of buildings and other designs by noted architects.

  • ARTstor - subscription image database (includes art and architecture) MIT only
  • DOME - MIT's digital image repository

 

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait