Locate the full text
Locate the full text
Once you've searched databases, you will have a list of citations to track down. When looking for the full text of the documents you need (articles, books, etc.), follow these guidelines:
Does MIT own the book or journal you need?
- If the database you're seaching has an SFX button
or "Get this - MIT" link, click it. SFX
tells you if the item you want is full text in other databases and/or
if that item is physically in the MIT Libraries (via Barton, the MIT
Libraries catalog). - Try the SFX Full Text Finder. This tool lets you enter a citation and will let you know if the MIT Libraries have electronic access to that article. Be sure to use the full journal title for the most accurate result.
- Check Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog to find out if we own the book or journal you need. Search by "Title begins with" and enter the full journal or book title. You can not search Barton for article authors or titles.
- Check Vera to find out if the journal you need is a full text e-journal. Type the journal title into the "Find titles by keyword" search box, and click "Display list." If we subscribe to that journal online, it will provide the link for you. Navigate to find the article you need.
What do I do if MIT does NOT own the book or journal I need?
- Search the Boston Library Consortium libraries
for books and journals from libraries in the area (this does not
include Harvard University libraries). You can go to these libraries
yourself to make photocopies or check out books.
- BLC Libraries catalogs - search each individually for a book. If you plan to borrow the book, you first need a BLC card from the reference desk.
- WorldCat - a database of books and journals in libraries around the world. Search for the book or journal you need, then click "Libraries Worldwide" to find out if a library in the area owns the title you need.
- Interlibrary Borrowing (ILB)
is a *free* service. Request a book or journal article from another
library. This service may take as little as 3 days, or up to 2 weeks.
Plan ahead!
http://libraries.mit.edu/ilb
Chemistry Librarian |
Erja KajosaloOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Science Library
617-253-9795
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Science Library
617-253-9795
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait