This is the "Home" page of the "English Encounters with the Americas, 1550-1610" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Encounters with the Americas, 1550-1610  

Research Guide for the NEH Summer Seminar for College and University Teachers, July 2011
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/encounters Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MIT Libraries catalog

Barton: MIT Libraries' Catalog
 

MIT's Worldcat


About this program
 

Vera Multi-Search

Find articles on your topic


 

Discipline-Specific Research Guides

The links below will take you to discipline-specific research guides created by librarians at MIT.  They contain lists of online catalogs, primary source databases, article databases, and websites.

For a list of research guides in other disciplines, please consult the complete list.

Online Research Tools

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Contains scanned reproductions of the works of thousands of authors published prior to 1700 in all fields and genres. Overall dates of coverage: 1475-1700 .
  • JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive
    A collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded. JSTOR requires MIT identification and must be accessed either through the "get URL" (http://libraries.mit.edu/get/jstor) or through Vera.
  • Middle English Compendium
    Includes the Middle English Dictionary covering the years 1100-1500, a bibliography of material published during that period and selective full text of Middle English prose and verse

Print Material Outside of MIT

  • HOLLIS
    Harvard's online catalog.
  • History Resources from the Boston Public Library (BPL)
    Anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts is eligible for a BPL card or e-card to access electronic resources, including the Archive of Americana collection of early American primary sources.
  • WorldCat
    WorldCat includes books owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat indicates which libraries in the Boston area own the book you need.
  • Google BookSearch
    Searches the full text of books scanned from publisher and library partners. Full text is mostly only available for older books (pre-1922), but TOCs are usually available for all books. A useful tool for establishing if a particular title contains the information you need (and for providing enough bibliographic information to locate it in print at a library).

Questions?

Profile Image
Mark Szarko, Literature, Foreign Languages and Literatures, and Theater Arts Librarian

Course Links

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip