Related Guides
- 2.009 Course page
- RefWorks (for organizing your citations and citing properly)
Useful Links
- Associations on the Net - Internet Public LibraryDiscover interest groups and professional/trade associations related to your product or industry.
- CIA - The World FactbookStatistics on different countries
- Consumer Product Safety CommissionThe CPSC is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death from thousands of types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction.
- EIU Country Profiles and Country ReportsProvides analysis of current trends in economic and political conditions for nearly 200 countries, including a two-year forecast.
- FedStatsSearch for statistical series produced by the federal government. By topic, major subject area or agency.
- NAICS (North American Industrial Classificaition Codes)Identify an industry code for your product or segment of your industry.
- US Census - Annual Survey of ManufacturesOf interest are the Value of Product Shipments and Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries.
- World Development Indicators Online (WDI)Statistical data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Finding Information
See our video tutorials for help using the MIT Libraries and all of its resources.
Find journal articles
Search a bibliographic database:
- Compendex: general engineering and Inspec: electronics, computing, control, robotics, physics
- Introduction to Compendex and Inspec (video tutorial - 3:04)
- PubMed: medicine and biology
- Web of Science: general science, some engineering
News sources
- Greenwire: Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy news with a focus on politics and policy.
Find books
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.
- Physical distribution of goods
- Mobile computing
- Transportation
- Airplanes
- People with disabilities
- Cell phone systems
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list. For books on Markets/market share see the Market Research & Industry Overviews tab.
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
- A full text collection of hundreds of handbooks and reference sources. There is a section on Food Science.
- Appropriate Technology Library: A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information
- AT Sourcebook: index to publications
- Publications are on CD-ROMS in the Barker Library stacks: T49.5.A86 2002
- Books 24x7
- Full-text e-books in engineering, including items like ASHRAE handbooks
- Springer E-books
- OECD iLibrary
- Books and reports from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Go to Books By Theme.
Manufacturer catalogs
Check these manufacturer listings to get a better sense for what products are already on the market. You can also contact companies directly for information.
- GlobalSpec: contains over 24,000 digitized catalogs that represent over 2.3 million products and over 183 million searchable product spec
- Medical Device Register: available in print in the Hayden/Science Library reference collection
- Thomas Register: a comprehensive resource for finding information on suppliers of industrial products and services in North America
- Also availalble in print in Barker Library: Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Angie Locknar |
![]() Contact Info Barker Engineering Library (10-500) Hayden Library (14S-100) Phone: 617-253-9320 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Specialist |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.




Loading...
