Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Astronomy, Astrophysics, & Planetary Science 

A guide to library research tools for astronomy, astrophysics, and planetary science.
Last update: Sep 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/astro  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources            Print Page
  
 

Data Sources

Constants and Equations Pages - Divided into science, math and astronomy sections. The science pages include lists of constants and equations as well as conversion calculators.

Conversion of Units - An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.

Digital Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas of the Moon - The definitive reference manual to the global photographic coverage of the Moon.  The digital Lunar Orbiter Atlas of the Moon is a reproduction of the 675 plates contained in NASA SP-206, written by Bowker and Hughes.

Digitized Sky Survey - A database containing images from the Palomar Observatory Sky Surveys and other surveys conducted with the Palomar and UK Schmidt telescopes.

NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center - The primary archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena, from black holes to the Big Bang. It includes data obtained by NASA's high-energy astronomy missions from the extreme ultraviolet through gamma-ray bands, along with missions that study the relic cosmic microwave background.

Physical Reference Data - A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, and other physics data.

Planetary Data System - The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements. The PDS is sponsored by NASA's Science Mission Directorate.

Review of Particle Physics Database - Annual description of properties of established and hypothetical particles, as well as related reviews and tools.  Published in Physics Letters B, v.667 (2008).

 

Electronic Reference Sources

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences - Comprehensive yearly volumes of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the earth and planetary sciences fields.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - The 88th edition of the classic handbook of physical and chemical data.

Landolt-Bornstein Group VI: Astronomy and Astrophysics - Online data handbook series covering topics such as astronomical instruments, position and time determination, astronomical constants, abundances of the elements in the universe, the solar system, the stars, special types of stars, star clusters and associations, the stellar system, and galaxies.

HyperPhysics - A free online resource covering many topics in astrophysics (and other branches of physics), maintained at Georgia State University.

Weisstein's World of Astronomy - A free online resource covering many topics in astronomy, maintained by Wolfram Research.

 

Selected Print Sources in the Science Library Reference Collection

NASA Atlas of the Solar System - G1000.G7 1997

StarGuides Plus - QB1.S775 2004

The Nautical Almanac - QB8.N314

The Astronomical Almanac - QB8.U58.A2

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics - QB14.E54 2001

StarBriefs Plus - QB14.S743 2004

Encyclopedia of the Solar System - QB501.E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences - QB600.2.E53 1997

Dictionary of Minor Planet Names - QB651.S352 2006 (also online through SpringerLink)

Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields - QC30.A5125a

 
 

Subject Specialists

Michael Noga
Earth and Planetary Sciences Librarian

Contact Info:
Science Library
14S-134
617-253-1290
mnoga@mit.edu

 

Mathew Willmott
Library Liaison for Physics

Contact Info:
Science Library
14S-134
617-324-5855
willmott@mit.edu

 

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait