Related Guides
Finding Information
Journal articles
- Compendex: covers all fields of engineering.
- include Inspec: covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology
- View the video tutorial on using Compendex/Inspec
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Collection (ESPM): covers articles on environmental & pollution issues
- Scopus: covers journals and conference proceedings across many disciplines, including engineering
Patents
Books
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
Search library catalogs from around the world: MIT's WorldCat
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.
- Pedal-powered mechanisms
- Appropriate technology
- Sustainable Development
- Water harvesting
Electronic books, handbooks, reports for your project
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
- A full text collection of hundreds of handbooks and reference sources
- Books 24x7: Full-text e-books in engineering, including topics like Sustainable Energy & Development
- CRCnetBase: Full text e-books in science and engineering, from the publisher CRC and Taylor & Francis
- Appropriate Technology Library: A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information
- AT Sourcebook: index to publications
- Publications are on CD-ROMS in the Barker Library stacks, 6th Floor: T49.5.A86 2002
- Dissertations and Theses: Full text sinec 1997, citations only prior to 1997
Country Data & Analysis Databases
Economic Data & Statistics
Regional Data & Statistics
- CIA World Factbook
- China Data Online - info
- IndiaStat - info
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO): statistics
Socio-Cultural Data & Statistics
Angie Locknar |
![]() Contact Info Barker Engineering Library (10-500) Hayden Library (14S-100) Phone: 617-253-9320 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.



Loading...
