Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Finding Information 

Tips on how to find scholarly information for your research.
Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=36844  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Google Scholar            Print Page
  
 

Setting your Google Scholar preferences to access MIT Libraries content


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

About Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

It is a scholarly citation database, an attempt to provide free citations to scholarly publications that are typically "fee-based".  It began in 2004 and is still in a Beta version, so be aware that things keep changing with the database.

What is included in Google Scholar?

Google Scholar's database indexes items Google considers "scholarly," including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. 

The MIT Libraries is participating in Google Scholar.  Some, but not all, articles found in Google Scholar will be accessible at MIT.

A nice feature of Google Scholar is that it can link to full text articles in MIT Libraries' electronic collections. To activate this function on your computer, go to Google Scholar and click on Scholar Preferences. Type MIT Libraries into the Library Links box. Click on Save Preferences.

What is NOT included?

It is difficult to determine how much of the scholarly literature is included in the database, but only a portion of the literature of any discipline is indexed in Google Scholar.

When should I use Google Scholar?

Great for getting started in an area, Google Scholar is a useful tool when used in conjunction with the specialized resources available through the MIT Libraries.  You should also use Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog as well as subject-specific databases included in Vera to be most comprehensive with your research.

How do I get more information about it?

See Making Google Scholar Work for You for more information.  You can also Ask Us.  Library staff are happy to help you find what you need.

 

 

 
 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait