Finding Scholarly Articles
The databases below provide access to articles from scholarly publications.
- ProQuest Research Library
Covers many different subject areas and many different media, from scholarly journals to newspapers to magazine. - Women's Studies International Includes over 232,000 records from a variety of essential women's studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts. Allows 1 simultaneous user(s)
- Contemporary Women's Issues Full-text access to information on women in over 150 countries from journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
- Vera Multi-Search
Much like a search engine of search engines, Vera Multi-Search will search through several article databases at once to find you information. Click on "Databases by Subject" to get a list of databases for a specific field.
Finding Newspaper Articles
The databases listed below are great sources of newspaper articles. Note: Some resources only allow a set number of simultaneous users. If you can't get in, try your search again later.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Good source for newspaper and magazine articles. Allows you to limit your search to articles from online magazines. - Alternative Press Index
Covers many alternative, radical, and left publications that address political, economic, social and cultural issues. - Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. - World News Connection Contains full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation. Allows 1 simultaneous user.
- Factiva Primarily a business database, but also provides access to many domestic and foreign newspapers and magazines such as NY Times, Washington Post, and Newsweek. Allows 5 simultaneous users.
- ISI Emerging Markets News from emerging markets in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa (1995 - present).
Finding Articles in Other Subjects
How to Find Out More about a Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper
Ulrich's International Periodicals is a great way to learn more about a magazine, journal, or newspaper:
- Each entry can tell you whether the title is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
- Peer-reviewed (or refereed) titles have a symbol shaped like a referee's shirt next to them.
- Some entries have reviews, which can sometimes tell you a publication's political slant.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Note: Only 5 users can be in at one time, so if access is denied, try again later.
Questions?
Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator, Humanities Library
szarko@mit.edu
(617) 258-8022
If Mark is not around, try:
Ask Us! - for quick reference questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait