This is the "Getting the Full Text" page of the "Getting the Full Text" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Getting the Full Text  

Tools to use to find the full text - either online or in print - of articles and other documents you need for your research.
Last Updated: Jun 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/getfulltext Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting the Full Text Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

This page helps you find full text of electronic or print documents, held by the MIT Libraries or elsewhere. 

Getting Around the MIT Libraries

SFX

Search Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog

Vera:  Databases & E-Journals

Not owned by MIT Libraries

 Please Ask Us if you need assistance in getting the full text of documents you need.

Getting around the MIT Libraries

Here are some helpful links for locating materials in the MIT Libraries:

  • Map of the MIT Libraries on campus
    Shows locations of library buildings throughout campus.
  • Library of Congress Call Numbers
    Books and some journals are arranged by LC call number in all MIT Libraries. Learn how to read these numbers to find items on the shelf.
  • E-Books
    Get an overview of e-book collections provided by the MIT Libraries
  • Circulation FAQ
    Find out about MIT Libraries' policies on obtaining and using library materials, including borrowing, fines, course reserves, and using Your Account to manage your library materials.
 

SFX

  • SFX helps link you from an article citation in a database to the full text of that article. 
  • If the database you're searching has an SFX button  or a link that says "Get this - MIT" - click it to see if full text is readily available.
  • If the libraries can't link you to the full text article or e-book you will be given other options for getting it, like searching Barton to see if it is available in print or Interlibrary Borrowing (ILB) to request the item using ILLiad.
 

Search Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog

Search Barton to see if the book or journal is owned by the MIT Libraries:
  • Barton contains items in all campus libraries, plus remote storage (LSA) and selected reading rooms. 

  • Barton includes materials in various formats: print, online/electronic, microform, DVD/CD, and more.

  • For articles, search Barton for the journal or book title.  Do not search for article titles or article authors.
 
Items available online or electronically (in full text):
  • Notice the sfx button  in the Barton record. Click that link to get to the e-book or e-journal.

  • The record in Barton will indicate which MIT library holds the book or journal.

  • Click the 'Find it in the library/Request item' link for the item's status, location and call number.

Items located in the Library Storage Annex (LSA), our remote storage facility:

  • Click the 'Find it in the library/Request item' link for the item's status, location and call number.  Click the "Request Item" button to have the item delivered to a library on campus.  Click "Request PDF" to have our staff scan the article you need (free to MIT students, faculty and staff).

  • Non-MIT users may fill out a request form to have a book or entire volume of a journal delivered to your closest library. 
 

Vera: Databases & E-Journals

Search Vera to see if we have electronic versions of the articles you need.

  • Vera contains links to thousands of e-journals, e-books, and other e-resources licensed by the MIT Libraries.
  • Note: to search for an article, make sure you search for the journal title, NOT the article title.
  • You need certificates to access e-resources from off-campus.

Not owned by MIT Libraries?

While the MIT Libraries hold three million volumes and tens of thousands of e-journals and e-books, we do not have everything you need. You may be able to get what you need by utilizing one of these options:

  • MIT's WorldCat
    Search this world-wide database of books to find and request books you need in libraries beyond MIT. Search results include the option to order books directly from the Borrow Direct Network or libraries in the Boston Library Consortium (BLC).
  • Borrow Direct and BLC WorldCat Borrowing
    Learn more about how easy it is to request books from the vast collections of the libraries in the Borrow Direct and BLC lending networks.
  • InterLibrary Borrowing (ILB)
    ILB obtains materials not owned by MIT to support MIT-related research. There is no cost for using this service, but use is restricted to MIT only. Plan ahead - ILB takes as little as 3 days or as long as 3 weeks, depending on what you request.
  • ILLiad FAQ
    Answers to questions about using ILLiad to submit requests to InterLibrary Borrowing.
  • Access to non-MIT Libraries
    Learn about borrowing options from regional academic partners including participating Harvard libraries and the Boston Library Consortium.
 

Need Help?

Ask Us if you have questions

 

Research Consultations: appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

More Help

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip