Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Getting the Full Text 

Tools to use to find the full text - either online or in print - of articles and other documents you need for your research.
Last update: Sep 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=37178  Print Guide  RSS Updates

In the MIT Libraries            Print Page
  
 

SFX

  • SFX is a tool that helps link you from an article citation in a database to the full text of that article. 
  • If the database you're searching has an SFX button  or a link that says "Get this - MIT" - click it to see if full text is readily available.
  • Or use the SFX Full Text Finder.  This software lets you enter a citation to see if MIT has online access to that article.  

Getting around the MIT Libraries

Here are some helpful links for locating materials in the MIT Libraries:

  • Map of the MIT Libraries on campus  
    Shows locations of library buildings throughout campus.
  • About the MIT Libraries  
    Lists all the libraries at MIT and provides links to their home pages. See also the link for library hours.
  • Library of Congress Call Numbers  
    Books and some journals are arranged by LC call number in all MIT Libraries. Learn how to read these numbers to find items on the shelf.
  • Circulation FAQ  
    Find out about MIT Libraries' policies on obtaining and using library materials, including borrowing, fines, course reserves, and using Your Account to manage your library materials.
 
 

From article citation to PDF: Easy access to full text

To learn more about getting full text, scroll down the page to read the text.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Search Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog

Search Barton to see if the book or journal is owned by the MIT Libraries:
  • Barton contains items in all 9 campus libraries, plus remote storage (LSA) and selected reading rooms. 
  • Barton includes materials in various formats: print, online/electronic, microform, DVD/CD, and more.

Try a search in Barton here:


Barton: MIT Libraries' Catalog


Items available online or electronically (in full text):

  • Notice the web link in the Barton record. Click that link to get to the e-book or e-journal.
  • For many of these items, you will need certificates to access the full text.
  • Off-campus users: Links to full text in Barton may not work. Search Vera for the book or journal title to access it electronically outside of MIT.

Items in print:

  • The record in Barton will indicate which MIT library holds the book or journal.
  • Click the 'Availability' link for the item's status, location and call number.

Items located in the Library Storage Annex (LSA), our remote storage facility:

  • Fill out a request form to have a book or entire volume of a journal delivered to your closest library. 
  • Request an article to have individual journal articles delivered to you via PDF (free to MIT students, faculty and staff).
 

Vera: Databases & E-Journals

Search Vera to see if the article you need is full text online.

  • Vera contains links to hundreds of e-journals, e-books, and other online resources licensed by the MIT Libraries.
  •  

  • Note: to search for an article, make sure you search for the journal title, NOT the article title.
  •  

  • You need certificates to access online/electronic resources from off-campus.
  •   

Try a search in Vera here:


E-journals by title



Past issues of some journals may not be available electronically. Search for print copies of journals in the Barton Catalog

Have a complete article citation? Use the Full-Text Finder

 
 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Tutorials

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait