Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Learning from the Past: Drama, Science, Performance 

Course page for 21L.016/21M.616
Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/21l016-21m616  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles


MIT Libraries subscribe to several relevant databases; some contain full text, others contain citations & abstracts only. You may want to search more than one to be most comprehensive. (See Locate Full Text for guidance in tracking down the documents you need.)

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed below! Many others in different disciplines (e.g., art, film, or music) might also be useful for your research. Use VERA (Virtual Electronic Resource Access) to find additional resources.

INDEXES & ABSTRACTS

LITERATURE, HISTORY & OTHER DISCIPLINARY INDEXES

ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (part of LION) (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/abell

  • A database within LION (Literature Online), ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature - contains over 500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

America: History and Life (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/america

  • Covers articles published 1964 - present
  • Covers articles about the the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Citations and abstracts only but with links to some full-text.

Historical Abstracts (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/hist-abs

  • Covers articles published 1954 - present
  • Covers articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
  • Citations and abstracts only but with links to some full-text.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/hist-scitech

  • Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations.
  • Abstracts are included in some records.
  • Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science: 1975 to the present, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology: 1987 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/mla

  • Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide.
  • The premiere source for research in literary studies.
  • Also contains extensive coverage for drama.

Women's Studies International (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/wsi

  • Includes over 232,000 records from a variety of essential women's studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/shakespeare

  • Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1971 and early 2002 (with content updated at regular intervals).

GENERAL & INTERDISCIPLINARY INDEXES

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/webofsci

  • Covers articles published 1973 - present
  • Cited reference searching retrieves papers that have referenced earlier works by a specific author

Humanities Abstracts (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/humanities

  • An index to more than 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature.
  • Indexing from 1984-present; abstracts from 1994.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (MIT only) http://libraries.mit.edu/get/hss-retro

  • Coverage: 1907-1984

ProQuest Research Library (MIT only)
http://libproxy.mit.edu/login?url=http://www.umi.com/pqdauto?COPT=SU5UPTAmREJTPUc2

  • Online access to thousands of journals, periodicals, newspapers, dissertations, and magazines covering a broad range of subject. Many are in full text.

FULL-TEXT ONLINE JOURNAL COLLECTIONS

JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/jstor

  • Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually not the most current)

Project Muse (MIT only)
http://libproxy.mit.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/

  • Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (only recent issues)
 

Questions?

Profile ImageMark Szarko


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
14S-103B
(617) 258-8022
Send Email

Subjects:
Theater Arts, Psychology, Education

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait