Getting Full Text of an Article
Locate the Full Text
Once you've searched databases, you will have a list of citations to track down. When looking for the full text of the documents you need (articles, books, etc.), follow these guidelines:
Getting Journal Articles
The Old-Fashioned Way
Step 1: Use an index or database to find an article title (see the Find Articles Tab for examples)
Step 2: Find the journal in Barton
Step 3: Write down the call number and go pull the journal from the shelf
Some Shortcuts to Make Life Easier
- Shortcut #1: Look for the "SFX" button.
- You’re in a database and have found an article you want. How do you get it?
- Easiest way? Click on the "SFX" button or on the "Get this - MIT" link.
- SFX will tell you:
- Does MIT have the article in full text online?
- . . . Or is it in print in the libraries?
- . . . Or can you get it through Inter-Library Borrowing?
- Shortcut #2: If you know exactly what you’re looking for, go directly to SFX FullText Finder.
- Shortcut #3: Use full-text journal databases (see Find Articles for examples)
- But remember: These don’t always have subjects! You’re searching the articles line-by-line
- They are less comprehensive than indexes
What do I do if MIT does NOT own the book or journal I need?
- Inter-Library Borrowing (ILB)
is a service offered at no cost to you. Request a book or journal
article from another library. This service may take as little as 3
days, or up to 2 weeks. Plan ahead!
http://libraries.mit.edu/ilb
- Search the Boston Library Consortium libraries
for books and journals from libraries in the area. You can go to these
libraries yourself to make photocopies or check out books.
- BLC Libraries catalogs - search each individually for a book. If you plan to borrow the book, you first need a BLC card from an MIT library reference desk.
Questions? |
Mark SzarkoOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
14S-103B
(617) 258-8022
Send Email
Subjects:
Theater Arts, Psychology, Education
![]() |
Contact Info:
14S-103B
(617) 258-8022
Send Email
Subjects:
Theater Arts, Psychology, Education
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait