What to look for
Style manauls give you examples of citing various types of sources, both within the text of your paper and in a reference list or bibliography.
Citation style manuals can be found in print, either at the MIT Libraries or at book stores like the MIT Coop.
For online style guides, consult these web sites:
- Mayfield Handbook of Scientific and Technical Writing Chapter 10 addresses citation styles and techniques
- MIT Libraries Virtual Reference Collection: Style Manuals
- Citation Style for Research Papers From Long Island University Library
Style manuals to consult
Access these style manuals at one of the MIT Libraries (links go to records in Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog):
Citation software
Citation software (also called "citation managers" or "reference managers") lets you:
- import citations from your favorite databases and websites.
- build and organize bibliographies.
- format citations for papers.
- take notes on articles and save them in your collection of citations.
- save and organize pdfs, screenshots, graphs, images, and other files for your research.
The MIT Libraries support 3 types of citation software, listed below:
- EndNote at MIT A software package designed to help you to organize bibliographic references and create a bibliography
- RefWorks at MIT A web-based resource designed to help you to organize references and create a bibliography
- Zotero at MIT A research tool that helps users collect and organize sources
- Videos of workshops on Refworks, Zotero & EndNote Watch videos to learn tips and tricks on using these citation software packages.
Table of contents
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait