Background Information: Online
Need a quick fact or more background reading? Try one of the links below.
For additional resources, see the History Research Guide and the Science, Technology, & Society Research Guide.
- Oxford Reference Online Includes both encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from History and other disciplines.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
- Oxford Companion to United States History
- American National Biography An illustrated collection of more than 17,000 specially written biographies of men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation.
- Oxford African American Studies Center Includes: African American National Biography; Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience; Black Women in America; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896-Present
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
- The Oxford Companion to American Military History
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Background Information: Print Books
Online information is convenient, but sometimes just what you need is in a print book in the library! The following are selected reference books that might be useful for your work. You can use Barton to identify additional reference works.
- The American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History John Mack Faragher, editor. New York: H. Holt, 1998.
Humanities Reference E174.A535 1998 - Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History Mary Kupiec Cayton and Peter W. Williams, editors. New York: Scribner, c2001.
Humanities Reference E169.1.E624 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Social History Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn, and Peter W. Williams, editors. New York: Scribner, c1993.
Humanities Reference HN57.E58 1993 - Encyclopedia of American Studies George T. Kurian, et al., editors. New York: Grolier Educational, c2001.
Humanities Reference E169.1.E625 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Urban History David Goldfield, editor. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, c2007.
Rotch Library - Stacks HT123.E49 2007 - The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture M. Thomas Inge and Dennis Hall, editors. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Humanities Reference E169.1.G7555 2002 - The Sixties in America Carl Singleton and Rowena Wildin, editors. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, c1999.
Humanities Reference | E841.S55 1999
Subject Guide |
Michelle BaildonContact Info:
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait