Finding Scholarly Articles
The web offers millions of pages made by anyone, but these pages only skim the surface of what is available. The MIT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases that offer scholarly and professional information.
The links below are some that may be specifically useful for your projects. Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.
Don't limit yourself to the databases listed below! Many others in different disciplines (e.g., art, film, or music) might also be useful for your research. Use Vera (Virtual Electronic Resource Access) or Research Guides to find additional resources.
Indexes & Abstracts: History
- America: History and Life * Articles about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
* Citations and abstracts only but with links to some full-text
* Covers articles published 1964 - present - History of Science, Technology, and Medicine * Citations to articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations
* Abstracts included in some records
* Isis Bibliography of the History of Science: 1975-present, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology: 1987-present
Indexes: General & Interdisciplinary
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) * Covers articles published 1973 - present
* Cited reference searching retrieves papers that have referenced earlier works by a specific author - Humanities Abstracts * An index to more than 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature
* Indexing from 1984-present; abstracts from 1994 - Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective * Coverage: 1907-1984
Full-Text Online Journal Collections
- JSTOR: Archive of Interdisciplinary Journals * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature, although may not be recent (last 5 years).
* All articles are full-text. - Project Muse * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including history.
* Most articles are full-text, although access to some may be through links to another source. - ProQuest Research Library Online access to thousands of journals, periodicals, newspapers, dissertations, and magazines covering a broad range of subjects, many in full text.
Subject Guide |
Michelle BaildonHumanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait