LibGuides: Enterprise Management Lab (EM-Lab): Companies/Competitors

Company Research

Directories provide basic details about companies and competitors, such as financials, industries, deals, size, and other brief information.

News and Journal Databases allow you to scan academic and trade journals and newspapers for articles and media mentions about a company.

See the Companies and Finance & Investment research guides for more sources.

Mergent Intellect
Information on 90+ million companies worldwide. Includes some financials. Search by company, industry, location, or other criteria. Export limit: 2,000 firms per download (NOTE: Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Online as of November 2013.)
OneSource
Directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies. Provides basic details such as location(s), names of executives, major industries and size of business.
Capital IQ
Directory of 1.8 million public and private companies. See MIT Sloan CDO for personal access or access via a workstation at Dewey Library. TIP: Under the Coverage Management tab, choose "Relationship Paths" to identify MIT Sloan alums.
VentureXpert via SDC Platinum
Directory of venture capital and private equity deal information. Note: You MUST use Internet Explorer
Mergers & Acquisitions/VentureXpert via SDC Platinum
Database of mergers & acquisitions, IPOs, joint ventures, VC firms and funding, and other deals. Must use at Dewey Library or download client software to your PC.
ABI/Inform Complete
Database of scholarly and trade journal articles in business and management. Some overlap with Business Source Complete.
Business Source Complete
A leading database of scholarly articles in business and management. Some overlap with ABI/Inform Complete but with more full-text.
Factiva
News articles and business information from over 8000 sources. TIP: Begin by selecting the "Search" tab near the top left corner. Then, search by keywords. Use the "Select Sources and Factiva Intelligent Indexing" options to narrow your results.
LexisNexis Academic
News, business, and legal resources from around the world.

Related Guides

Other MIT Libraries Research Guides cover many more resources:

more...