Useful library & course pages
Websites you can trust (and cite!)
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
- MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine
- World Health Organization (WHO)
Library locations for this class
Literature on medicine and the history of medicine will be found in Hayden Library in the collections of the Science and Humanities Libraries. Additional literature on public health policy will be found the the Dewey collections.
Discover writings
Vera is the primary gateway to these and all other electronic resources.
- Barton Library CatalogFind books for background and context.
- StatRefCollection of medical texts, including ACP Medicine and pharmaceutical reference sources. Also includes Oxford Textbook of Medicine, a core medical textbook with accurate, concise summaries written by experts.
- PubMedComplete MEDLINE database, 1966-present. Also provides related references. PubMed indexes more than 3500 journals in biomedical research, neurosciences an clinical medicine.
Find articles and books
To get articles:
- Try the SFX button
(or any link that says full text) in the database, if one is present. Note: For this to work in PubMed you must use the Vera PubMed url: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/pubmed. - Next, search for the name of the journal in Barton.
- Vera will indicate whether the journal is online.
To get books:
- Use Barton to search for authors, titles, and keywords.
- If MIT does not own what you need, Interlibrary Borrowing is also an option. This can take 3 days to 2 weeks, so plan ahead!
- If pressed for time, determining whether another local library has what you need might help. Try the Worldcat database. Use Ask Us! if you need assistance.
Remember to evaluate your sources, and note the full information for your references: you'll need this for your bibliography. If you're interested in software that will help you manage your readings and generate your bibliography, have a look at RefWorks.
Engineering & Science Librarian |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
