Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Disruptive Technologies - 15.365J 

Resources supporting research in 15.365.
Last update: Apr 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/disruptive-tech  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Companies            Print Page
  

Track Current Players

Company directories and industry surveys provide current data about companies and key players within industries.

  • CorpTech - company directory  
    95,000 public & private companies in high tech industries. Look up a company by its name. CorpTech also lets you generate lists of companies by founding date, by product type, by industry, etc. At the interface, click Login Here.
  • Hoover's Online - company directory  
    18+ million public & private companies. Look up a known company by name, or use the Build A List function to generate companies by industry, date of founding, change of control, etc.
  • Orbis - company directory  
    55 million companies, US & international. Look up a known company by name, or generate a list of companies by industry, founding date, status (active/inactive), etc. Reports track ultimate owners & subsidiaries. Contains annual reports.
  • Business Monitor - industry surveys  
    Surveys major industries across 175 countries. Includes quarterly reports on competitive landscape and industry trends.
  • IBIS World - industry surveys  
    Analyzes key competitors in 700 US industries. 2005 to present. Statistics on number of enterprises and establishments. (Global reports not included in subscription.)
  • Standard & Poor's Market Insight - industry surveys  
    Contains 30-40 page full text bi-annual surveys of major industries. Includes analysis & comparison of major competitors for each industry. 1996 to date. Print backfile of reports for 1947-1995 are in Dewey Library, shelved at HC106.6.S74.
  • Zephyr - deals  
    Data on 500,000 mergers & acquisitions, IPOs, etc. Global deals from 2000 to date. European deals 1997 to date.
 

Track Entries & Exits

News databases, annual reports, and the filtering and list-building functions of company directories are three ways to exploit the public record for data on companies.

Entries: To track new company entries, search the company directories at left.  Specify a founding date (expressed as a year or range of years) and an industry. The directories will return lists of companies for the year and industry specified.

To track the movement of existing companies into an industry or sector, search for articles or press releases about companies in news archives:  Factiva or LexisNexis

Public company annual reports may also be helpful. Many can be downloaded from the Orbis database.

Exits: To track exits, search for articles or press releases about companies in news archives: Factiva or LexisNexis

Check company annual reports. Many can be downloaded from the Orbis database.

You can also use the Orbis database to generate lists of inactive companies.  At the Orbis interface, tag the box for Inactive Companies and specify an industry.  Orbis will bring back a list of companies. Open the company links to see when and why companies became inactive.  

M&A Activities: Search Zephyr. Specify a date range, deal type, and an activity (industry).

Extensive historic depth: see these company history resources in print format.


For help using these resources, contact business librarians at: 
ask-dewey@mit.edu.

 

      
     

    Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

    Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

    Description

      Loading content... please wait