Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Disruptive Technologies - 15.365J 

Resources supporting research in 15.365.
Last update: Apr 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/disruptive-tech  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Patents & Scientific Papers            Print Page
  

Tracking Scientific Papers

The following databases index science and engineerng research papers.  To see other databases for specific science diciplines, visit the MIT Libraries' subject guides for science.

  • Web of Science  
    Flagship science database covering thousands of journals and millions of papers. 1973 to date. Search using keywords for your technology or product. Automatically tallies the number of papers by publication year.
  • Engineering Village  
    Comprehensive engineering database. Covers 1884 to date. Search using keywords for your technology or product. Automatically tallies the number of papers by publication year.
 

Tracking Patent Activity

The following sources provide full text of patents.

  • Free Patents Online  
    US patents from 1836 to date. International coverage begins with 1980s. Search interface is friendly. Search by keyword, inventor, assignee, date of issue, etc. Free but registration required.
  • Google Patents (beta)  
    Covers US patents. Easy search interface. Can search inventor and title keywords from 1790s. Free but some glitches still to work out.
  • US Patent & Trademark Office  
    Free, official patent database for US. Limited search options for 1790-1975. Searches for 1976 to present provide full text. Patent information is public domain.
  • Patents at MIT  
    MIT Libraries research guide on patents with information about the sources and help with search strategies.
 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait