Background Information: Online
Need a quick fact or more background reading? Try one of the links below.
For additional resources, see the History Research Guide and the Science, Technology, & Society Research Guide.
- Oxford Reference Online Includes both encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from History and other disciplines.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Covers the "long" Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present.
- Oxford Companion to World Exploration
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Background Information: Print Books
Online information is convenient, but sometimes just what you need is in a print book in the library! The following are selected reference books that might be useful for your work. You can use Barton to identify additional reference works.
- France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia Edited by Bill Marshall. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Humanities Reference E18.75.F73 2005 - The A to Z of the French Revolution By Paul R. Hanson. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
Humanities Reference DC147.H36 2007
Subject Guide |
Michelle BaildonContact Info:
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait