Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

21H.346: France, 1660-1815 

Library research resources and tips for 21H.346, Spring 2009
Last update: Apr 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/21h346_sp09  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

The web offers millions of pages made by anyone, but these pages only skim the surface of what is available. The MIT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases that offer scholarly and professional information.

The links below are some that may be specifically useful for your projects. Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed below! Many others in different disciplines (e.g., art, film, or music) might also be useful for your research. Use Vera (Virtual Electronic Resource Access) or Research Guides to find additional resources.

Indexes & Abstracts: History

  • Historical Abstracts  
    * Covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present
    * Indexes articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media
    * Citations and abstracts only but with links to some full-text
    * Covers articles published 1955 - present
  • History of Science, Technology, and Medicine  
    * Citations to articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations
    * Abstracts included in some records
    * Isis Bibliography of the History of Science: 1975-present, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology: 1987-present

Indexes: General & Interdisciplinary

Full-Text Online Journal Collections

  • JSTOR: Archive of Interdisciplinary Journals  
    * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature, although may not be recent (last 5 years).
    * All articles are full-text.
  • Project Muse  
    * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including history.
    * Most articles are full-text, although access to some may be through links to another source.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
    Online access to thousands of journals, periodicals, newspapers, dissertations, and magazines covering a broad range of subjects, many in full text.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageMichelle Baildon
Contact Info:
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email

Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait