Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

21F.030: East Asian Culture: Zen to Pop 

Library research resources for students in 21F.030 (Spring 2009)
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/21f030_sp09  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Information            Print Page
  

Background Information

Need a quick fact or more background reading?  Try one of the links below.

  • Oxford Reference Online  
    Includes both standard dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from a variety of disciplines.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
    Specialized online encyclopedias in a variety of fields.
  • Oxford Music Online  
    Encyclopedia of music that includes articles written by the world's leading music authorities with links to images and digital sound.
  • Oxford Art Online  
    Comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts and architecture worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online  
    * Provides an overview and historical survey of literary and cultural theory.
    * Coverage is international.
    * Essays provide more in-depth coverage of topic.
    * Entries cover both individuals and schools of thought.
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia  
    Covers subjects such as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
  • Cambridge World History of Food  
    History of food and nutrition, and their relation to human health and culture.

Searching the Web for Articles & News

The web offers millions of pages made by anyone, but these pages only skim the surface of what is available. The MIT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases that offer scholarly and professional information.

The links below are some that may be specifically useful for your projects. Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.

  • Vera Multi-Search  
    A search engine of search engines, searching through several article databases at once. It's a quick way to start. Use the Humanities, General, or Social Sciences options. For more in-depth searching, use one of the databases below.
  • Google Scholar  
    Google's search engine for scholarly literature. See also Making Google Scholar Work for You.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
    Indexes thousands of journals, newspapers and magazines in a broad range of subjects. Many articles are available in full text. Varies by publication.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    Lexis Nexis Academic provides access to the full-text of many news resources, including newspapers, magazines, and radio and TV news transcripts from the U.S. and around the world.
  • Project MUSE  
    * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature.
    * Most articles are full-text, although access to some may be through links to another source.
  • JSTOR: Archive of Interdisciplinary Journals  
    * Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature, although may not be recent (last 5 years).
    * All articles are full-text.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  
    The BAS indexes books, journal articles, and book chapters about Asian studies in humanities & social sciences in English & other languages. 1971 to present.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals Plus  
    Offers articles from hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
  • Film Literature Index  
    * Provides citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001(multi-lingual).
    * Citation index only. You'll need to find the source through Vera or Barton. (No SFX links.)
  • MLA International Bibliography  
    * Generally, an excellent source for literary criticism. European-literature-centric.
    * Provides citations of articles or book chapters; you'll need to use the SFX button to find the actual article.
  • Literature Online: LION  
    * A different way to access the MLA listed above.
    * Allows you to search 2 literary databases at once: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  
    Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other publications that cover music. 1967 - present.
  • Music Index Online  
    Indexes hundreds of music periodicals covering many musical styles and genres. 1978 to the present.
  • Anthropology Plus  
    Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in Anthropology.
  • AnthroSource  
    Contains full text of the publications of the American Anthropological Association. Includes current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    The main database in sociology. Includes abstracts of journal articles, citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. 1963-present.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present. Indexes articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media.

Library Databases for Primary Sources

  • ARTstor  
    Includes thousands of images of East Asian art and architecture.
  • Contemporary World Music  
    Steaming music can be browsed by place or cultural group.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageMichelle Baildon
Contact Info:
Humanities Library
Room 14S-222
617-253-9352
Send Email

Subjects:
Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and Science, Technology, & Society

Library Databases by Subject

Depending on your topic, there might be other library databases useful for your research. These guides list them by subject:

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait