Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

EndNote at MIT 

Last update: Nov 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

EndNote with Bibliographic Databases            Print Page
  
 

Getting Bibliographic Data

Connection files allow EndNote to search and import references from databases.  Connection files only work with databases that support the z39.50 protocol (typically library catalogs and free databases, like PubMed).  There may be additional restrictions that limit the libraries' ability to support this type of access.  EndNote users can get new and updated filters at the EndNote Technical Support pages.

To download connection files:

  1. Click on the link for the file.
  2. Save the file into your Connections folder in your EndNote directory (found on your C:\ drive or in your C:\Program Files folder).

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: When using a connection file to access a Cambridge database (e.g. Aerospace and High Technology, ARTbibliographies, Linguistics and Language Behavior, Oceanic Abstracts, Sociological, Worldwide Political Science) you are prompted for a user ID and password. Use your MIT web certificate to obtain the necessary user ID and password.

OCLC WorldCat: When using a connection file to access WorldCat you are prompted for a user ID and password. Use your MIT web certificate to obtain the necessary user ID and password.

ProQuest Research Library: You will need to use your MIT web certificate to access this file. This connection file will connect you to the entire ProQuest Research Library. You can not limit to one database (example: ABI Inform).

Export: Download records from a library-supported database directly into your EndNote database.

Import filters are the files used by EndNote to decipher information that has been downloaded from a bibliographic database. You can customize any of these import filters or create your own. EndNote users can get new and updated filters at the EndNote Technical Support pages.


 

Enabling OpenURL Functionality

The OpenURL Link command on the References menu connects your EndNote record to the MIT Libraries SFX server when properly configured. It uses data in your EndNote record to connect you to full-text resources, Barton, and other library services.

Note: This command has no relation to the URL field found in EndNote references or to the Open Link command on the References menu.

Enable OpenURL: Go the the EDIT pull-down menu and Select PREFERENCES. Mark the check box to enable the OpenURL Link option found on the EndNote References menu. The OpenURL Link command is available only when a reference is open for viewing.

OpenURL Path: http://owens.mit.edu:8888/sfx_local

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait