Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Choosing the best database 

Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=43325  Print Guide  RSS Updates

About article databases            Print Page
  
 

Library databases vs. Google video


Loading Video Clip...
 

About article databases

Article databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because:

  • They include hundreds of journals, so you search through thousands of articles at once.
  • Some databases are general or interdisciplinary and provide broad coverage of many topics, while others are subject-specific and cover one field in-depth.
  • Many databases have full text articles, so you can read entire articles online.
  • Databases vary in content and may include more than just journal articles; conference proceedings, book chapters, theses, or technical reports may also be covered. 
  • If a database only includes journal articles, various types of articles might be covered, such as articles from trade journals, magazines, or scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
  • Article databases cover differing periods of time, so check date ranges.  For dates not covered by an online database, Ask Us to find relevant print indexes.
      
     
     

    Need Help?

    Ask Us! if you have questions

    Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

    Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

     

    Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

    Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

    Description

      Loading content... please wait