Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Choosing the best database 

Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=43325  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Using Vera to choose article databases            Print Page
  
 

Choosing an appropriate article database

To skip this video and read the text only, scroll down the page to the next box.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Using Vera

To choose appropriate databases for your topic, use Vera.  You have 2 options:

1.  Browse Databases by Subject to find the category that best matches your topic.  

  • Each Research Guide lists subject-specific databases to search for articles and other types of information.    
  • Most databases contain descriptions (see the 'info' link), which provide brief overviews of what the database contains, plus years of coverage; full text coverage is also indicated.  
  •  

2.  Use Vera's multi-search, located in the "Find articles on your topic" section (see below). 

  • Choose a broad cateogy - Interdisciplinary for a general search - and enter your keywords for a quick simultaneous search of several article databases.  
  • Search results give you an idea of which database(s) cover your topic most extensively. 
  • Browse your search results from Vera, or go to the database you feel contains the best results and re-do your search there.

  

Try a search in Vera's multisearch here:


Find articles on your topic


Interdisciplinary (4 databases)
Art & Architecture (6 databases)
Engineering (7 databases)
Humanities (11 databases)
Management & Business (5 databases)
Science (6 databases)
Social Sciences (9 databases)

Also search for books (MIT's Barton catalog)

 

 Still not sure about which database to search for your topic?  Ask Us!  Library staff are happy to help you find what you need.

 
 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait